Composite cable for Component video - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 01-05-2007, 02:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hymarathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
Can I use Composite cable for Component video?


Please correct me if I am wrong. If I connect the same color code cables on the Y, Pr and Pb ends of the DVD player and the TV, will the composite cable works as component cable?

Please help
hymarathe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 Old 01-05-2007, 04:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bfoster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Weeksville, NC
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you are referring to the red/white/yellow cables, that would be a bad idea. Most audio cables in that scenario are not coax.
bfoster is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 01-05-2007, 04:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It won't pass an HD signal. Don't do it. It might work for a progressive scan DVD player output but that is it.

"PLEASE HELP STOP HDTV ABUSE! FEED YOUR HDTV AN HD SIGNAL!"
miniz is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 01-05-2007, 06:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You should get a picture and it won't hurt anything.
But, a composite cable may not be made of 3 identical pieces of co-ax cable.
For best picture results, I would upgrade to a real component cable.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 01-05-2007, 06:06 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ratman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Collingswood, N.J.
Posts: 14,303
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 257
.... or you can use three "yellow" composite cables connected to matching colors (red/green/blue) at each end.
Ratman is online now  
post #6 of 21 Old 01-05-2007, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GeekGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
"Identical" means that should all be: the same length, 75 Ohm coax (RG-6, RG-59), with RCA connectors. Easy to build if you have spare coax and connectors. If you want to buy, check out http://www.monprice.com
GeekGirl is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
Quirck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Won't work, my friend tried it..
Quirck is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 09:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
It works on my set.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
miniz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Small Town X, HDTV Land
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As I said, it "works" but it doesn't work..... why not buy the correct cable for very little money at www.monoprice.com? The cables are not the place to skip on.

"PLEASE HELP STOP HDTV ABUSE! FEED YOUR HDTV AN HD SIGNAL!"
miniz is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 02:25 PM
Senior Member
 
hdtvpros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it does work and pass HD, period. We have installed many plasmas were the customer had dishHD installed without having the tv intially and the installer just left it hooked up to their old tv with composite.

We try to sell the customer some inexpensive component or hdmi cables but most of the times they are very cheap and bearly want to pay for the install.

So we just give them an extra set of RCA (red,white,yellow) and run it as component and yes it does pass HD. At least with 6' cables.
hdtvpros is offline  
post #11 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
hdtvpros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But if you have 3 sets I would only use the yellow, just make sure to mark which cable is red, green, blue.
hdtvpros is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GeekGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 1,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Works. I used RG-59 coax and built the cables myself simply because I had the time, parts, and it was fun to do.

I would emphasis hdtvpros point about using only the yellow. The red/white (audio) part of these cables have next to no shielding, the yellow part has at least some shielding. While it's not RF, you still need a minimal amount of bandwidth to carry the signal. Good shielding goes a long way here.
GeekGirl is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 07:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Come off it- use the right stufff.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
hdtvpros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davinleeds View Post

Come off it- use the right stufff.


What is the right stuff? If your that picky paint all three yellows to red, green and blue. When they manufacturer cheap component cables they use the yellow(composite) cables just use different color boots.

Tells us what brand is the right stuff and I will take three yellows and compare.
hdtvpros is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
hdtvpros's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I personally like to get three pairs of 14g speaker wire and solder rca connectors and use wala component cables.lol j/k
hdtvpros is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 01-07-2007, 09:53 PM
Member
 
montypythizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvpros View Post

I personally like to get three pairs of 14g speaker wire and solder rca connectors and use wala component cables.lol j/k

monster speaker wire give u better HD :O
montypythizzle is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 03-25-2007, 08:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use some RCA brand RCA cables that I bought from Home Depot. The insulation is clear so you can clearly see the copper braid and that it's a coax cable.

So what is the difference between these cables and ones that say "Component" and cost twice as much?
[/quote] is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 03-26-2007, 03:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quite a few ppl recommend using only the yellow cable of an A/V cable. I really doubt it is necessary if you have a stereo A/V cable. The connectors are all identical except for the color. The cables all have the same thickness. How likely is it that the manufacturer would bother to use a different cable for the Video?

If you use the yellow (video) cable of 3 separate cable, it would do more harm than good. I don't think a typical person would have 3 sets of completely identical A/V cable. Chances are they are not only different in quality but different in length as well.
pixelation is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 03-26-2007, 04:05 PM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can you use 75 Ohm coax cable, for video signals, with 75 Ohm source and load terminations?

Yes.

What's the difference between a coax cable, sold for composite video and one sold for component video?

Nothing.
Targus is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 11-11-2007, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Roxx Wallington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you understand about component cables and the connectors used on the ends? They are soldered on? I need help before I start putting connectors on these wires.
Roxx Wallington is offline  
post #21 of 21 Old 11-13-2007, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
[/quote]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roxx Wallington View Post

Do you understand about component cables and the connectors used on the ends? They are soldered on? I need help before I start putting connectors on these wires.

I PMed you about what we were talking about.

To terminate a coax cable with an RCA type jack requires a crimper or compression tool, this will be pretty expensive. You can buy a great compression tool that does only F-Connectors (normal cable television connectors) for a great price. From there, they make little fittings that adapt from the F-Connector to RCA. That method seems to be well liked in this forum for people are aren't going to do it often enough to invest in the tool.
[/quote] is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off