What the heck is he difference between a 7.5db and 12db cable splitter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-02-2007, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jjmancini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Everyone!

What the heck is he diff between a 7.5db and 12db cable splitter?

I just got a new house and when the comcast guy came to set-up internet, he unplugged by buit-in 8 way splitter that 12db and put in a 5 way splitter that was 7.5 db. What is the difference? Should I take one over the other?

Any help would be great!

Thanks!
jjmancini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-03-2007, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thats normal. A splitter with more outputs will have more loss, each 3db is about 1/2 the signal. Use the least output version as you can for least loss or you may also need a low-noise cable amplifier to make up for the loss.
Joxer is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-03-2007, 12:36 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jjmancini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oh ok... that makes sense. Shouls I split off my cable modem before I split to TV? Thanks so much for the help!
jjmancini is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-03-2007, 12:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
mterzich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 993
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An 8-way splitter will spilt the power so that each output usually gets 1/8 the power (12 DB) and a 5-way splitter will split the power so that each output usually get 1/5 the power (7.5 DB). Therefore the less number outputs, the greater the signal strength.
mterzich is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-03-2007, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
How many splits do you need?
If 5 will do the fewer the better.
RCbridge is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-03-2007, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MrMike6by9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lutherville, Maryland
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The modem and the cableco box will be the most sensitive to signal levels. For best performance (IMO) they should be "as close as possible to the pole". My line-in has a 2-way on the outside of the house with the cable modem on one leg and the other to the LR to another 2-way splitter. One leg goes to cableco box, the other to an broadband drop amp that feeds the SD side of the LR TV, Tivo, VTR, & 1 DVDR through a switcher so the coax side of the cableco box can feed the DVDR and the BR and also patches in the OTA roof-top antenna. In the BR there is a 2nd DVDR that has coax pass-through for the BR TV.

YMMV

"Typos are very important to all written form. It gives the reader something to look for so they aren't distracted by the total lack of content in your writing."

- Randy K. Milholland
MrMike6by9 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-04-2007, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jjmancini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow great explanation guys! Thanks for clearing that up!

i will go ahead and split off my Cable modem then before my basic cable. Thanks again!
jjmancini is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-05-2007, 05:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bluto17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 823
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Dumb question - if you have an 8-way splitter, but cap off the unused splits at the splitter, will that improve the signal through the other uncapped splits? For example, using 5 splits of an 8-way splitter and capping off the three unused splits.
Bluto17 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-06-2007, 12:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 5,212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Capping unused splitter outputs is a good idea to prevent noise pickup. However it won't change the fixed losses. Only a splitter with fewer outputs will reduce the loss.
Joxer is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off