normal coaxial cable vs rca cable ??? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-28-2007, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guardianflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know this is such a noob question, but I googled and still can't find an answer. Is RCA cable(the yellow, red, white) better than coaxial cable?

Is Coaxial cable(black) the cable that comes with the cable box? Not sure if that is call coaxial. I connected both from my cable box to my hdtv and couldn't decide which is better one to go for. I'm been using the black cable for many years. I use them for my old VCR, cable box, tv etc.
guardianflash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-28-2007, 04:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Generally, they are all coaxial in construction and differ mostly in the thickness of the conductors and the type of connector. Otherwise the same.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-28-2007, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guardianflash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only thing I notice is with the black one the color is more and with rca the color is not as saturated.
guardianflash is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-29-2007, 05:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whoaru99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by guardianflash View Post

The only thing I notice is with the black one the color is more and with rca the color is not as saturated.

Some of that could be related to the cable, but it's probably more a factor of what device is demodulating the RF CATV signal into the (composite) video signal and how well your TV deals with external composite video input.

When using the black coax all the way to the TV, your TV tuner is demodulating the RF signal into the video signal.

If you use the black coax say to the cable box and then from the cable box video output to the tv video input with the other cable, the cable box is demodulating the RF into video.

I guess the best answer is to go with what looks better for you. However, to give the RCA video connection a fair shake, perhaps you want to readjust the TV and see if there are other subtle differences you notice once the color is more to your liking.

Just because there is a knob doesn't mean you should turn it.
whoaru99 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-29-2007, 09:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,385
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by guardianflash View Post

The only thing I notice is with the black one the color is more and with rca the color is not as saturated.

It could certainly be that the video coax has a defined and correct impedance (75ohms) and the others do not.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-29-2010, 01:00 PM
Member
 
HomeAppraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Same question three years later:

We just got a Dish VIP722k DVR with two satellite tuners and two outputs, one HD and one SD. I hooked the HD output to the first TV (a 1800p Plasma) with an HDMI cable and up my installer ran a dingle black coaxial cable to the second TV (a 540p CRT) in the bedroom. I am not happy with the SD picture sharpness on the CRT. Would a 25' run of RCA (Red Yellow White) provide a better picture?
HomeAppraiser is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-30-2010, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
H.P. how do you select the Dish signal at the second TV (a 540p CRT) in the bedroom?
Do you tune to channel 3 or 4?
Or do you tune to "video" or "Aux" input?

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-01-2010, 12:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You tune to a UHF channel - the default is channel 60, but you can change it (I think it starts at around channel 20 or so).

Yes, if you could run a long composite cable to the other TV, it would be an improvement (the RF coax run is Dish's standard installation method).

You can find extremely inexpensive, but very good, long lengths of composite cables at www.monoprice.com.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 05-01-2010, 01:26 AM
Member
 
HomeAppraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The bedroom TV is a Toshiba 30HF85 http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/televisi...p?model=30hf85 and the signal comes from a black coax cable directly into the TV. The installer said we need to select the Cable input and tune the TV to channel 73. The Dish VIP722k DVR box only has RCA and coax outputs for TV2.
HomeAppraiser is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 05-01-2010, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDMI Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeAppraiser View Post

The bedroom TV is a Toshiba 30HF85 http://www.tacp.toshiba.com/televisi...p?model=30hf85 and the signal comes from a black coax cable directly into the TV. The installer said we need to select the Cable input and tune the TV to channel 73. The Dish VIP722k DVR box only has RCA and coax outputs for TV2.

What you are referring to as RCA cable are also called composite cables.
HDMI Guy is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 05-01-2010, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So before you spend any money on a long RCA (Composite Video) cable:
a) Drag the TV over to the Dish box and try it both ways with a short cable.
b) If you do use the RCA (Composite Video) cable, you will also so need audio cables!

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-01-2010, 09:33 PM
Member
 
HomeAppraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedskater View Post

So before you spend any money on a long RCA (Composite Video) cable:
a) Drag the TV over to the Dish box and try it both ways with a short cable.
b) If you do use the RCA (Composite Video) cable, you will also so need audio cables!

Composite cables = Red Yellow White


Component cables = Red Green Blue Video + Audio


The DVR box only has Composite cables or coax out for TV 2.

Also TV 2 is 110 pounds so I am not dragging it back into the living room anytime soon.

I found a some inexpensive cable at Monoprice to try out.
HomeAppraiser is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 05-01-2010, 09:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Rammitinski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 17,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by HomeAppraiser View Post

I found a some inexpensive cable at Monoprice to try out.

Yes, that's exactly what you need.

And no need to try anything first, either. It'll work.
Rammitinski is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 08-02-2010, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
ElizaScar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found this article at cableorganizer.com/articles/component-video-cables-demystified

They also sell a lot of products to help install and manage cables, with lots of helpful tutorials and tips
ElizaScar is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off