Stand alone Tv Tuner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-04-2007, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crzyb1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm in the market for a projector and since i'm probably going to not have a cable box i'll need a stand alone tv tuner.

something like this:
http://www.digit-life.com/articles2/...k-tv-pro2.html

since i'll be hooking up my cd/dvd/xbox360 to a receiver, i'll just be watching tv on it. Tv doesn't have to be HD, but i don't want it to be insanely bad quality.

Any suggetions on what i should do? maybe just use a tuner in a vcr? i dunno Thanks!
crzyb1080 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-04-2007, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Where are you located? That looks like an analog-only tuner, and it is for european standards as well.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-04-2007, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crzyb1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wisconsin/Minnesota (i go to school in Minnesota), and i didn't mean that exact item, just an example of what i'm looking for. Basically a tv tuner that has an output like s-video, composite, etc. to hook up to my projector.

Looking for suggestions of what to get. Thanks
crzyb1080 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-04-2007, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crzyb1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would this work? with decent quality on a projector?
http://aver.com/mpd/tvbox7.html
crzyb1080 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-05-2007, 04:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RCbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Limerick Pa
Posts: 1,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Are we talking OTA or basic cable?
RCbridge is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-05-2007, 07:11 AM
Member
 
Noel Goodman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Sharp does a bad job of upscaling my cable -is there anything I can buy to clean up the image?
Noel Goodman is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-05-2007, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
crzyb1080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCbridge View Post

Are we talking OTA or basic cable?

basic "extended" cable so theres no box involved... otherwise i would just use the output of that to the projector (which would make things alot easier but i'm in college and can't afford the extra $$ a month for digital) and i'm assuming that OTA means "off the antenna"

maybe i'll ask my roomies if they'd be down with upgrading to digital, either way any suggestions on what i can do?
crzyb1080 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-05-2007, 04:43 PM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
WHy not use the tuner in a VCR?
Targus is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off