new to cable, is there any way to fix this? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-04-2007, 12:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dantheman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I decided to live in the dorms this year at college, and each room comes with basic cable service. I brought my 32" Vizio LCD (i know its cheap...but great for a college student) from home, and noticed that all the channels look pretty fuzzy/noisey/grainy in the dorms. I've never had cable at home, and it looked better with regular tv, so I don't know if theres a way to fix this. Could I get a signal booster, or does a cable box help clean up the signal? (I have no idea, these are just guesses-right now its just connected through the RF jack).

Thanks for the help
dantheman15 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-04-2007, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kenglish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 31
That's pretty typical of a system that needs maintenance. Call and have them come check it out.

Ken English, Sr. Engineer, KSL-TV.
"The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent the Company positions, strategies or opinions."
kenglish is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-04-2007, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
zaphod7501's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria Illinois
Posts: 1,926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 32
That's also pretty typical of cheap flat panel displays on analog signals.
Try turning the sharpness control all the way down.
I just saw a set that had noise on an unused video input because of the sharpness setting.
Check/compare the performance on clean sources, like a DVD player.
Try subbing a VCR tuner on a video input (yellow composite connection) to bypass the tuner in the TV completely.

Sturgeon's Law: "Nothing is always absolutely so."
Sturgeons Revelation: "Ninety percent of everything is crud."
My Thoughts: "A reasoned argument must share some basic common points."
zaphod7501 is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-04-2007, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dantheman15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i know my tv is cheap, what i'm trying to say is if i unplug the cable and hook up my tv to a little antenna, i get local stations that look good on my tv, but when i hook the tv up to the campus cable the quality goes down...so i doubt its the tuner in the tv. (i'm not looking for HD quality broadcasts, i just want cable to look normal) i figured its probably because the cable is probably being split so many ways, but if theres a way to fix it you guys would know.

thanks
dantheman15 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 09-05-2007, 08:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeathRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
i'm no expert on this stuff but you should also check some other TVs in your dorm and see if they all look that bad. that may be just the way it is.

i do agree with turning the sharpness level down -- that usually helps.
DeathRay is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-18-2007, 06:23 PM
Member
 
joperio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bay Area CA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If your lcd is 720p/1080i/1080p in its native resolution (HDTV), then keep in mind that what you're probabley viewing is a standard definition channel. Standard definition channels on an HDTV will show alot of the flaws/grains/etc of standard definition. If you tune into an HD channel though, it's spectacular.

After you do a channel search on your tv and you find your dorm cable feed does not have any HD channels, purchase a tv antenna that can draw in the free over-the-air HD channels.

The big question is... why are you using your financial aid for electronics?
joperio is offline  
Reply Cable, Digital Cable - Non-HDTV

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off