Home Security Camera DVR System Location - unit very noisy - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-17-2008, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JasonShep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mods - if I am in the wrong forum please move...

I installed an 8 camera dvr monitoring system in the house. All the cords are in the attic and are dropped down to the computer dvr unit with the observation monitor in one of our bedroom closets.

The problem is the computer is very loud and annoying - even behind the closed door. (fan)

For security reasons we want to keep the monitor in the closet and re-locate the computer dvr unit elsewhere. I can place it anywhere in the house as the attic is spacious and it is no big deal to re-route the lines.

Here are the issues/thoughts.

1. If I move the computer unit in another room and keep the monitor in the closet we can only observe the monitor and can't use the mouse with the program. I would connect the monitor with either a 50-100 ft monitor cord or replace the monitor with a tv as the dvr has a video out.

2. I tried a bluetooth mouse in the past and it just did not work.

3. Are there 100ft cords for a mouse?

I would rather re-locate than try to replace the fan on the computer/dvr unit.

Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks ahead of time.

Jason
JasonShep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-19-2008, 10:01 AM
Member
 
phelmers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my security camera computer (running XP) located in the basement. When I want to check on it I use Radmin as a remote console which is available on any computer in the house. (Other programs such as UltraVNC should also work.)

So in your case, why not get a quiet dedicated PC or laptop and install it in the closet. You'll be able to completely control the security camera computer no matter where you locate it. You can use wired ethernet to your closet computer (as I do), or even wireless should work.

Hope this gives you some ideas!

- Peter
phelmers is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-21-2008, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Ravz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here is a site, you should check out. maybe you can retrofit your PC into this case if you saavy like that : http://www.silentpcreview.com/ (not really that hard)
Ravz is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-22-2008, 04:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
JasonShep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies. Great suggestions - I am still tinkering...

Jason
JasonShep is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off