Help! Comcast DVR HDMI settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-24-2009, 05:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bummnet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have a 4x4 HDMI matrix connected to two sharp and two sony TVs.
I also have two comcast boxes distributed over HDMI.
When I switch the Comcast box between the sony and sharp tv the sound drops on the Sharp TV-Specifically the Sharp displays the message that audio signal is not recognizable.
I then need to turn Comcast box off, change the HDMI audio setting from auto to L-PCM, the the sound returns. This change in the settings however is only temporary and when tvs are switched over the matrix, the same thing happens again.
How can I stop this? Is there a way to may these settings on the comcast box permanent? Am I missing something on the sharp tv that will make the tv recognize the audio? I would prefer not to purchase an EDID emulator like Gefen HDMI Detective plus.

Here is my equipment list:
Accell 4x4 HDMI Matrix
Sony 65w5100, 40w5100, Sharp 46se94u, 52BP80U
two motorola comcast boxes DCH 3200
bummnet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-24-2009, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Richardson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 2,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome to HDMI.. No real cheap easy solution besides using componet video matrix.
David Richardson is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-02-2012, 07:35 PM
Member
 
mosfetman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DCH-3200 is junk. I have the same problem with it not saving my RGB/YCC settings; my DVI projector requires RGB, my TVs handle either. Whenever I make a change on my 4x4 HDMI switch, the 3200 reverts back to defaults. I'm sure that Comcast/TW/Moto did this so that you would have to get (and pay for) multiple boxes rather than using an HDMI switch.
MosFetMan
mosfetman is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off