CAM6.6 versus CAV6.6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-29-2009, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Hawksnest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, I'm looking to install a Russound system with 6 Uno S2 keypads throughout my new home.
I'm just looking for some opinions of the CAM6.6 (with built in AM/FM tuner) versus the CAV6.6.
I like the fact that the CAM has tuner capability but the CAV has the double sets of source inputs/outbputs (saving me from running a few "y" connectors)
I currently don't have plans to utilize the "video" on the CAV either.
Is there an easy way to connect my Harmon Kardon receiver to the CAV to allow using the tuner from the HK receiver? Or am I better off going with the CAM for this sort of thing?
Which do you feel is the better overall unit?
All opinions and experience with both units are appreciated.
Hawksnest is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-30-2009, 07:00 AM
Member
 
Eric G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should look at the MCA-C5. It has the best of both the CAM and the CAV. Double the output power. Better control of Russound sources - as well as others.
Eric G is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-30-2009, 07:38 AM
Member
 
jeffm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The CAV6.6 allows for extending the 6 RNET zones with 4 A-Bus subzones. Which means you can put 10 zones in place for less cost than many other solutions. I don't believe the CAM6.6 supports the subzones.

The MCA-C5 does have a lot of good features that aren't included with the CAV6.6. It supports 8 zones out of the box, as well as an option for an embedded tuner. It has a sleep timer, and software to program the system.

So I think comes down to what you're looking for. If you want more zones, either the MCA-C5 or CAV6.6 (with A-Bus controllers for the extra zones). Otherwise CAM6.6 might work for you.

As far as using the Harmon Kardon receiver as a source, you could probably do it, but it's probably not going to be an optimal solution for a tuner--it depends on how you're using it, whether it has a dedicated pre-out outputs, etc. With the CAM6.6 or MCA-C5, you can get them with built-in tuners. For the CAV6.6, you could use the double tuner ST2 tuner. You'll get at least some level of meta-data with either the built-in or Russound tuners that you won't get with another brand.

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
jeffm13 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 01-02-2010, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Hawksnest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to both of you for your input.
It's helped a lot!
Hawksnest is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off