cable distribution help? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-28-2010, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dingdong2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have 5 analogue tvs, 1 digital hdtv, and 1 cable modem (w/ multiple IPs). I will probably be adding another analogue tv soon. I have analogue cable but I receive many digital hd channels through the same line. I'm using some type of Sony distibution system with 2 modulated channels.
The problem with the Sony device is that it is only analogue, and it seems to cause static that is directly related to my internet use (more internet traffic = more static).
I'm looking for a distribution system that will amplify my cable signal for all 7 tvs, work with both analogue and digital signals, and not cause any static. Any recommendations??? I've had a lot of trouble finding useful info online for these things.
dingdong2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-28-2010, 10:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 335
The Sony device is likely a re-badged version of the All-in-One ChannelPlus modulator.

Are you using the modulation functionality to distribute some signal? I assume you are, and you may be putting the modulated channels in a region that is used by the cable modem. IIRC, that device is frequency-agile, so you should be able to move to a different "channel".

The problem with the modulators these days with cable TV service is that the band(s) are getting really full, it can be difficult to find an unused channel to located your modulated signal.

And performing the same job for a digital/high def signal is not cheap yet. ZeeVee has a box that will do it, though.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-29-2010, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
David Feller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Longmont, CO
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious how the system is hooked up (the modulator) - I've seen that when a modulated signal is inserted on a random leg as opposed to at the demarc point through a combiner, that it can cause very strange results - like random noise.

Jautor is right, though, about the only band that is still relatively unused is the FM band -
There is a pretty good overview of why - HERE... Ignore the propoganda at the end...

David
David Feller is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off