Adding internet radio to a Russound RNET system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 02-24-2010, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
themicah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some friends have a Russound CAM6.6T system to which they'd like to add Pandora and/or other internet radio capability. I'm aware of the Russound SMS3 server, but its internet radio capabilities seem extremely limited relative to its exorbitant cost, and they already have a Russound iPod Bridge so they have no use for the mp3 playback capabilities of the SMS3.

After a little googling, it seems the Logitech Squeezebox Radio and the Grace Digital Tuner Internet Radio are the most promising solutions, but I'm wondering which will integrate better with the Russound system, or if there is something even simpler/better out there. Simplicity and reliability are the primary goals.

Their installer has limited experience with Russound so I want to make sure I understand what the options are before I make any suggestions on what they should do.

At first glance the Squeezebox Duet looked great, but because the remote is Wifi based and not IR based, they would effectively need to buy an extra remote for each room if they want to be able to control it remotely and wouldn't be able to use the Russound control panels. Am I wrong about this? For that reason, I am looking at the Squeezebox Radio with optional IR remote (even though it has a built-in speaker we don't need).

The Grace Tuner device seems very similar but a little cheaper since it includes the remote and doesn't have the superfluous speaker. But I'm having trouble finding reviews.

Any thoughts on which is better for this application?

Also I'm wondering how well they can integrate control of one of these devices into the UNO-S2 keypads. Is it possible to program the CAM6.6T so that the same internet radio device shows up as more than one source--say one source for Pandora and another for "regular" internet radio--so they can program the keypad to do different things in Pandora mode vs. regular internet radio mode? For example, I'd ideally want to use the +/- keys as the thumbs-up and thumbs-down buttons for Pandora, but use those same keys to cycle through favorite "stations" in "regular" internet radio.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.
themicah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 02-24-2010, 09:31 PM
Member
 
aliti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Look into casatunes. It has been mentioned before I don't own one, but it does support internet radio.
aliti is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 02-24-2010, 11:26 PM
Member
 
jeffm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a Russound CAV6.6 and wanted 2 things: Internet Radio and the ability to utilize both the Russound and the home theater system in the family room--with the same source at the same time. I considered Casatunes, Squeezebox, and Sonos. Each of these options, however, required me to spend more than I wanted to.

I decided to try an Apple Airport Express. It's basically a wireless router with an audio output that allows you to stream audio through an external amp. Since I also have an Apple TV connected to the home theater, it made sense to at least give it a try.

It works great! I can stream anything from iTunes on any of our (non-Apple) computers--including Internet radio. The Apple TV can also stream through the Airport Express. The only thing I was missing was support for services like Pandora or last.fm that aren't supported through iTunes or Apple TV. I found a cheap software utility called Airfoil from Rogue Amoeba that allows me to stream anything through the Airport Express.

So I have the Airport Express connected to the Russound, and use it as a separate source. Because the Apple TV can stream to the Airport Express, and is connected to my home theater, I can listen through the home theater system in the family room, while playing the Airport Express source in other rooms at the same time. It works great in either scenario. I find that I use it most frequently to stream from the Apple TV--mainly because it lets me use both sound systems at the same time.

I've had only two problems. The first is that I can't control anything but volume through the Russound keypads (so far). This isn't a big problem because I can use the Remote app on my iPhone to control iTunes or the Apple TV to switch stations, playlists, etc. The second problem is that the Airfoil application has proven to be a bit flaky and requires more fiddling than I'd like to get it to work repeatably. Neither was a show stopper for me.

The biggest advantage is the total cost: about $125.

Jeff
.
jeffm13 is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 02-25-2010, 01:41 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
themicah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd not seen Casatunes before. That's very much the sort of thing I'm looking for, although I hate the idea of having to leave a Windows machine running all the time for it to work (or having to wait for it to boot when they want to use it). If only they made a Casatunes "server" that was more stripped down instead of being a full-fledged PC. Although I suppose I could build my own....
themicah is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 03-17-2010, 06:09 PM
Newbie
 
apmilano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: El Dorado Hills
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a Western Digital HD Live (HDTV Live). This solved a few things for me but did add some limited Internet radio capability.

Bascially, its a small $120 box that you plug into your TV that will allow any content from your network, attached USB drive, and some limited internet streams to play on your TV. I take the output from the TV and run it back to Russound.

It specfically plays Pandora and Live 365 and I stream the video to other TV's connected to Russound which is pretty cool. So when I play Pandora in my house, I also get the video aspect on all the TVs in the house as I want.

Additionally, there is a software app for $40 called, PlayOn. This 3d party app, provides additional Internet streaming including: Netflix and Amazon. There are a number of other streams too.

The thing I have not been able to do is learn the IR remote control to for the remote that comes with the WDTV Live. Not sure what I am doing wrong but if I can control it via keypads that would be perfect.

I also looked at many other attachments: MC11, Sonos (which is great but $$$$), squeezebox, and some Creative stuff. Did'nt like them for reasons already discussed on the board.
apmilano is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 03-12-2011, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Take a look at Myro:Bridge (http://www.myrobridge.com). It solves the issue you're having.

Best,
Danny
mavromatis is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 03-12-2011, 06:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
programmergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: summit, nj
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Isn't russound comming our with a music port type device to do this?

Jason
Note: Any posts are of my personal opinions and not to reflect upon any business.

Jason@programmergeek.com

908 578-6466

programmergeek is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 03-12-2011, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by programmergeek View Post

Isn't russound comming our with a music port type device to do this?

Nothing that is public... Plus, waiting for something is different than something already shipping.

Cheers,
Danny
mavromatis is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 03-12-2011, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,491
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 383 Post(s)
Liked: 415
You do realize the OP's question is a year old, right?

Maybe it hasn't been released, but there is a press release on the Russound streaming product:

http://www.russound.com/pdf/press_re...-31-013111.pdf

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #10 of 22 Old 03-13-2011, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Hehe, Danny looking for Myro business.

That Russound music server looks cool, FM tuner included, for those few local stations that don't stream.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 03-13-2011, 07:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
themicah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The OP may be a year old, but we're still looking for a good solution and this new Russound product sounds promising.

Since the OP, the Grace Tuner has become more widely available and seems to get pretty good reviews so that's become the leading candidate. But they'd be "flying blind" using it, since although they could presumably teach the remote codes to the Russound, the Russound control panels aren't going to give any visual feedback. That might be acceptable if we just program in a few favorite stations for them to toggle through, but I could see them wanting to use Pandora to "discover" new music, which obviously isn't going to work well if they can't see a display to see what it is.
themicah is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 03-13-2011, 08:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by themicah View Post
The OP may be a year old, but we're still looking for a good solution and this new Russound product sounds promising.

Since the OP, the Grace Tuner has become more widely available and seems to get pretty good reviews so that's become the leading candidate. But they'd be "flying blind" using it, since although they could presumably teach the remote codes to the Russound, the Russound control panels aren't going to give any visual feedback. That might be acceptable if we just program in a few favorite stations for them to toggle through, but I could see them wanting to use Pandora to "discover" new music, which obviously isn't going to work well if they can't see a display to see what it is.
I could add Grace Tuner support to Myro:Bridge if you guys are interested. That would bring you control and metadata to the RNET bus.

@neurorad, just trying to help people get 3rd party "smart sources" added to their system. I'd love Russound to come out with products fast... But from past experience they typically don't compete with price or features when it comes to Sonos, Apple or other "commodity" devices. Myro:bridge makes Russound systems more relevant. Plus, the Myro:Bridge can also be paired with Octava or Wyrestorm HDMI matrix switchers. Something Russound has not announced a solution for.

Best,
Danny
mavromatis is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 03-14-2011, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
themicah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would the myro bridge actually be able to display the info from the Grace's LCD panel on the Russound keypads?

The system in question is a CAM6.6T with UNO S2 keypads.
themicah is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 03-14-2011, 09:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by themicah View Post
Would the myro bridge actually be able to display the info from the Grace's LCD panel on the Russound keypads?

The system in question is a CAM6.6T with UNO S2 keypads.
Yes, that is exactly what Myro:Bridge is designed to do. You can see videos on the website (or YouTube).

I have put in the request to get the API for the Grace player. If they provide the metadata, I can get it to display on the keypads (plus control).
mavromatis is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 03-14-2011, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just got the API docs for the Grace, let me know if you guys want me to get a unit and write firmware for the Myro:Bridge to support it on your Russound RNET system.

If I get enough requests, it will make it worthwhile.

I should add, that we already support Sonos ZonePlayers, however, if folks like the Grace player, we can add support for that as well.

Best,
Danny
mavromatis is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 04-18-2011, 03:46 PM
mcu
Member
 
mcu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If we wanted to control SONOS, itunes and a matrix would one bridge do it all or do you need one per? what if we have stackable russouns cav6.6s?

Any special pricing/discounts for AVS users?
mcu is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 04-18-2011, 05:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcu View Post

If we wanted to control SONOS, itunes and a matrix would one bridge do it all or do you need one per? what if we have stackable russouns cav6.6s?

Any special pricing/discounts for AVS users?

It's 1:1 mapping. The firmware and protocol for each type of device is very different, you can daisy chain them with no problems.

There are no issues with supporting multiple controllers (i.e. 2 CAV's). Just split or pass the audio through each controller.

As for special discount... we can work something out... not sure what the protocol is here for specials. Who do I need to get approval from?

Best,
Danny
mavromatis is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 04-18-2011, 08:34 PM
mcu
Member
 
mcu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the quick reply....as for the matrix, any chance of getting it to work with cheaper matrix. I know octava is great, but also $1000-1500. Some on ebay sell for under $400. I know these are probably no name, china made that might have no communication ports, but I thought I would ask anyway
mcu is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 04-18-2011, 08:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcu View Post

thanks for the quick reply....as for the matrix, any chance of getting it to work with cheaper matrix. I know octava is great, but also $1000-1500. Some on ebay sell for under $400. I know these are probably no name, china made that might have no communication ports, but I thought I would ask anyway

We support the following right now: Wyrestorm, Atlona, GrandBeing, Key Digital, Gefen and Octava

If you can send over the control protocol we can add support for other units as well, no problem. The Key Digital units we had in for testing are amazing as they have all sorts of bells and whistles (including lip sync and analog outputs).
mavromatis is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 04-19-2011, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
fletch999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 1,333
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looks like on the Grace WiFi radio has an ethernet port, would it connect to the Myro through the ethernet port for RNET data? Thanks
fletch999 is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 04-19-2011, 09:27 AM
Member
 
scr3wlo0se's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Best solution I've found for Pandora in a whole home A/V system is the Tivo Premier. You might also want to double check all the TV's or BD players installed both of those also include Pandora support depending on the model. Odds are something on the system already has Pandora and just needs a firmware update and an internet connection.
scr3wlo0se is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 04-22-2011, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
VoltorbMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mavromatis View Post

I just got the API docs for the Grace, let me know if you guys want me to get a unit and write firmware for the Myro:Bridge to support it on your Russound RNET system.

If I get enough requests, it will make it worthwhile.

I should add, that we already support Sonos ZonePlayers, however, if folks like the Grace player, we can add support for that as well.

Best,
Danny

I'd be interested in Grace player support!
VoltorbMD is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off