Best audio+video whole-house system to integrate with iTunes & Tivo? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 04-04-2010, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi - I'm building a new house and trying to figure out what kind of system to put in. I'm a relative newbie but have been educating myself on these forums.

This will be a professionally-done project. But, one thing I am learning is that any given dealer generally knows only one kind of system, so it's difficult to get advice from a dealer on which system to choose - they just sell you their own and explain why its deficiencies are things you don't want . So any advice from this community would be much appreciated.

The house is 3000sf and will have ~10 audio zones, ~3 TV screens, and 1 home-theater.

I would like the system to integrate really well with iTunes and Tivo. The first proposal that I got from a professional basically was to convert/copy all my content over to a different "high-end" media server, but I'm not too excited about that, primarily because of UI. For my own personal taste, iTunes is my preferred library manager, AppleTV is my preferred library browser, and Tivo is my preferred broadcast-TV browser. I haven't tried everything, so there might be equally well-designed stuff out there, but UIs I have tried that I personally don't care for include boxee, comcast/uverse DVRs, Windows Media Center.

All our music is in iTunes and we are heavy iPod users. The ability to pull different music in different zones from the iTunes library is a must.