HDMI over Cat5e problems and solutions, read before posting - Page 14 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #391 of 400 Old 06-02-2014, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,832
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by legend3012 View Post

So I wonder that what is the mechanism of convert the audio signal to transform the signal in the CAT cable? how dose HDMI extender work? Tks everybody.
It's electronics based. It's not as simple as a diode or resistor in place, but a microchip which has been designed performs the conversion of the 19-pin HDMI connection for the extender you are using. Different chips from different companies perform differently, and to this point, there is not one chip manufacturer which stands out as much as Valens does with their HDBT chips. To the point that all major manufacturers with the highest level of respect in the industry have standardized on HDBT as their cat-x extender solution of choice.

So, you aren't going to just 'recreate' these extenders by soldering a few locally available electronics pieces together.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #392 of 400 Old 06-13-2014, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
Shaneisaac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unhappy Problem w/ HDMI over Cat5. Used to work fine. now no.

I was using Niles C5HDMI baluns and a Samsung UN46C6300SFXZA with cable box, apple tv, roku, worked fine for a few years. the cat5 run is about 30ft. Now it does not work at all. i just tried it with two new TVs and they did not work. I tried it with different cat5 cables. I tried it with different HDMI cables.
I tried it with different baluns, kanex HDEXT50M, it didn't work.

Please help
Shaneisaac is offline  
post #393 of 400 Old 06-24-2014, 06:52 AM
Member
 
Garet Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrushev View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by giomania 

Thanks for the info on the termination standards. I would add that now all cable is created equal, so Cat 6 or Cat 5e depends on the cable manufacturer. I only use Belden, and would put their Cat 5e variants up against most other Cat 6 cables, especially for longer runs. They publish test results for their cable, so you can see what each particular model was rated at. That is my $.02.

Mark


I imagine 99% of people that would make their own runs will use Monoprice 1000ft bulk CAT6 500MHz UTP cable --> http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...&cs_id=1023401

Monoprice cat 6 bulk cabling happens to be what I used - is there a problem with it?
Garet Jax is offline  
post #394 of 400 Old 06-24-2014, 02:07 PM
Member
 
Chrushev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garet Jax View Post
Monoprice cat 6 bulk cabling happens to be what I used - is there a problem with it?
Nope, Ive always had superb experience with Monoprice cables, and products in general.
Chrushev is offline  
post #395 of 400 Old 06-24-2014, 07:03 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garet Jax View Post
Monoprice cat 6 bulk cabling happens to be what I used - is there a problem with it?
I am just a bit of a bulk category cable snob, and I only use Belden. Since I don't run category cable too often, and it is in the walls, I figure it is worth the extra expense.

For Cat 6 patch cords, I use the Monoprice variants.

For HDMI, I use the Belden Series of Blue Jeans Cables.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #396 of 400 Old 06-26-2014, 11:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
4x4 and cat5e extender

Hi I am new here and start switch my home to HDMI . I have 4 tv in different location and over 40 feet from the media center , I bought a 4x4 matrix HDMI switch from Monoprice ,4HDMI in and 4 HDMI out , then I bought a Sabrent HDMI extender over cat5e after hook them up I receiver signal ok but the video black out for 2 seconds then come back and keep doing that
If I take the output from the Switch and connect direct to the tv then it is ok , only when I use the extender then the video is black out every 2 or 3 seconds and come back and keep doing like that .
Cat5e is 50' in length .
Any suggestion will be appreciate .
bambibaba is offline  
post #397 of 400 Old 06-27-2014, 08:55 AM
Member
 
Garet Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I am just a bit of a bulk category cable snob, and I only use Belden. Since I don't run category cable too often, and it is in the walls, I figure it is worth the extra expense.

For Cat 6 patch cords, I use the Monoprice variants.

For HDMI, I use the Belden Series of Blue Jeans Cables.

Mark
Mark - snob away

Where do you get the Belden bulk cat 6 cable and what connectors do you use for your cable? Thanks.
Garet Jax is offline  
post #398 of 400 Old 06-27-2014, 05:58 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 28
When I cabled my house in 2007, I bought a 500' spool of Belden Cat 5e, but for the smaller projects since then, I have been buying remnants of Belden Cat 5e from Markertek.com; I have not used Cat 6 except for pre-made patch cords from Monoprice. For the female wall plate (key-stone) terminations, I used Leviton purchased from Home Depot. I did try some Monoprice ones, but did not like them at all. When I make a male RJ-45 termination, I have a bag of clear plastic connectors (don't know the name), and use a standard RJ-45 crimp tool.

A lot of the Belden Cat 5e is usually good for up to 350 MHz bandwidth, and they publish their test results. I figure for my gigabit network with alot of existing Cat 5e, that would be fine. If I was wiring my house today, I would be using Cat 6 or 7, and just bite the bullet for the extra cost.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #399 of 400 Old 06-28-2014, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
CinemaAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Has anyone tried HDMI over CAT7? I was going over the specs, same old RJ-45 Connector, RoHS Compliant, 10BASE-T/100BASE-TX/1000BASE-T/1000BASE-TX/9GBASE-T, Transfer Speed 10 Gbps, Bandwidth 600Mhz, 8 wires, cable size 5.7mm.

Those transfer rates and bandwidth are enough to handle 1080P and 3D with no problems up to 100 feet i'm guessing.
CinemaAndy is offline  
post #400 of 400 Old 06-28-2014, 06:42 PM
Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by CinemaAndy View Post
Has anyone tried HDMI over CAT7? I was going over the specs, same old RJ-45 Connector, RoHS Compliant, 10BASE-T/100BASE-TX/1000BASE-T/1000BASE-TX/9GBASE-T, Transfer Speed 10 Gbps, Bandwidth 600Mhz, 8 wires, cable size 5.7mm.

Those transfer rates and bandwidth are enough to handle 1080P and 3D with no problems up to 100 feet i'm guessing.
Unless the transceivers you're using are designed to use the extra bandwidth, it's a waste. I don't believe HDBaseT compliant equipment will do so. Maybe there's something newer/better out there that will.
FlyingDiver is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Tags
Iogear Vga Cat5e 6 Audio Video Receiver Gve140rx Black
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off