Adding TV to upstairs bedroom, is a wireless Direct TV solution available? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 10-25-2010, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
maldini99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am currently a Direct TV customer. We have one SD box in the family room and one HD box in the basement.

We would like to add a TV to one of the bedrooms upstairs, but for many different reasons we can not wire to it.

Are their any viable wireless solutions where we could transmit the output of one of our other two boxes to our upstairs TV and then maybe control the far away box using an RF remote?

Thank you for any help or suggestions.
maldini99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-25-2010, 12:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
Techaholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by maldini99 View Post

I am currently a Direct TV customer. We have one SD box in the family room and one HD box in the basement.

We would like to add a TV to one of the bedrooms upstairs, but for many different reasons we can not wire to it.

Are their any viable wireless solutions where we could transmit the output of one of our other two boxes to our upstairs TV and then maybe control the far away box using an RF remote?

Thank you for any help or suggestions.

Brite-view BV2322 (Air syncHD) see thread http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1279447 below it work great for that as long as you get a good signal.
Techaholic is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-25-2010, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crutschow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you want HD or SD to the bedroom? SD is a lot easier.

Carl
Curmudgeon Elektroniker
crutschow is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 10-25-2010, 01:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fletch999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Slingbox?
fletch999 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 10-26-2010, 08:23 AM
Vin
AVS Special Member
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Clifton, NJ
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by fletch999 View Post

Slingbox?

Good luck finding a Slingcatcher, it's been discontinued. So, that would mean connecting a laptop up to the remote TV....probably not the solution maldini99 is looking for. If SD is acceptable you can get an A/V sender like this one, (probably what Carl was alluding to) otherwise, the Brite-view that Techaholic suggested might be a consideration.

Vin
Vin is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-26-2010, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crutschow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For remote control, DirecTV sells an RF remote for $25 ($22 with an NFL team logo of your choice) that will operate their receivers and also the local TV. It works well for controlling my box inside a closed cabinet. Not sure what its maximum range is though.

Carl
Curmudgeon Elektroniker
crutschow is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-26-2010, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by crutschow View Post

For remote control, DirecTV sells an RF remote for $25 ($22 with an NFL team logo of your choice) that will operate their receivers and also the local TV. It works well for controlling my box inside a closed cabinet. Not sure what its maximum range is though.

Just note that if you put the DirecTV receiver into "RF Remote mode", it no longer responds to IR. So you have to use their RF remote(s) exclusively in that configuration...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-26-2010, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
crutschow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Just note that if you put the DirecTV receiver into "RF Remote mode", it no longer responds to IR. So you have to use their RF remote(s) exclusively in that configuration...

Didn't know that. Means you'd have to buy an RF remote even for in the same room as the receiver.

Carl
Curmudgeon Elektroniker
crutschow is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off