HDMI video distribution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 11-18-2010, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pointdexter02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to the community. I wanted to see if anybody could help me out with the distribution system I'm designing for my house. I've attached a quick diagram of what I'm thinking. Chime in if you see problems with it.

All TV's are 1080P and the living room is going to be a 3D plasma. I am looking at using a monoprice 4x4 so I figured I'd need a splitter to send a dedicated line straight to the receiver/tv for 3d.

My question is, will that 1.4 splitter send the proper signals to the receiver or will it see the rest of the stuff on the network and downgrade. Also, is there any fairly cheap way I can "decode" the audio at each leg, so that I can get surround at the living room?
LL
pointdexter02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 11-18-2010, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
AI Limited's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Why are you splitting the PS3? In theory, I believe a 4x4 matrix would look at all your displays and output 1080p if the source is 1080p, not a lower resolution if that's what you mean by downgrade.

AI Limited
AI Limited is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 11-18-2010, 11:18 AM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
1) HDMI distribution is a clusterf**k nightmare. HDMI distribution isn't even in my vocabulary.

2) as far as audio, yes it will see the TVs and downgrade everything to stereo. You will need a separate SPDIF out for 5.1 and will not get high res. Or you will need to have a more advanced switcher that can make sure all the outputs are physically off to the TVs so they aren't seen by the sources.

Basically, if you want to distribute stuff, distribute component video and stereo analog audio to the TV. Do 1080p HDMI locally only.

Or you're asking for an ass-kicking.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 11-23-2010, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
AI Limited's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 690
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles View Post

1) HDMI distribution is a clusterf**k nightmare. HDMI distribution isn't even in my vocabulary.

2) as far as audio, yes it will see the TVs and downgrade everything to stereo. You will need a separate SPDIF out for 5.1 and will not get high res. Or you will need to have a more advanced switcher that can make sure all the outputs are physically off to the TVs so they aren't seen by the sources.

Basically, if you want to distribute stuff, distribute component video and stereo analog audio to the TV. Do 1080p HDMI locally only.

Or you're asking for an ass-kicking.

Ha! That's hilarious! You crack me up Chris...

I guess you aren't buying into distributing a Blu-ray changer?

Obviously we can't distribute 1080p or DTS-MA/Dolby TrueHD without HDMI, which would be my nirvana.

AI Limited
AI Limited is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 11-23-2010, 02:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles View Post

Do 1080p HDMI locally only.

Or you're asking for an ass-kicking.

And I think Chris means kicking by HDMI, not by Chris himself...

Especially if you're considering 3D support, you should just assume those source(s) would need to be dedicated to the 3D-capable system.

If you take some of those things out of the distribution equation (such as 'real' 1080p / DTS-MA content), simple component video solutions can handle everything else...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 11-23-2010, 05:15 PM
 
ChrisWiggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by AI Limited View Post

Ha! That's hilarious! You crack me up Chris...

I guess you aren't buying into distributing a Blu-ray changer?

Obviously we can't distribute 1080p or DTS-MA/Dolby TrueHD without HDMI, which would be my nirvana.

Wouldn't touch it with a 10-ft pole unless it was analog-only, which is easy.

I'm curious about Kaleidescape's BD changer though, but that's a different architecture, and should work like a dream, knowing K-scape.

If I were to do it digitally, I'd go grey-market, use an HDCP stripper and take the HDMI to SDI, then distribute that. It would still be a hodge-podge, but at least it would work reliably. But it would be a very expensive route to go because you'd need professional displays with SDI inputs.
ChrisWiggles is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-12-2011, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
pointdexter02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posted this thread quite a while ago and thought about it again today. I did end up setting up an HDMI distribution system in my house and it has worked great with one hiccup I haven't gotten around to fixing yet. I ended up running two HDMI lines to each of my three main TV's. I then put two 4x4 matrix switchers in the A/v closet, of which I have the following sources hooked up.
-DVR
-Extra cable box
-Xbox
-PS3
-PC
-Video surveillance system

I have one TV capable of 3d and it works great from any source. The only hiccup I have is that for whatever reason it seems like the PS3 video signal is not as strong as all of the others. I have a 75 ft HDMI run to my bedroom on the other side of the house and the PS3 just refuses to display on that TV, but everything else works like a dream. I have a logitech harmony 1100 remote that runs all the switching and works from everywhere in the house and it is just awesome to be able to play xbox or PS3 from anywhere(minus the PS3 in the bedroom). I never did hook up a reciever in the system for surround sound, but for my purposes, I'm very happy with the result.

Long story short, don't be too afraid of HDMI switching these days.
pointdexter02 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-12-2011, 04:09 PM
Senior Member
 
GoGo Delicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles View Post
I'm curious about Kaleidescape's BD changer though, but that's a different architecture, and should work like a dream, knowing K-scape.
I am running 4 Kaleidescape Blu-Ray players through my Crestron Fiber based DM System and it works great. You can click on the link below my sig and see my posting on my DM system. Note that I have not updated the thread or pics with the Kaleidescape Blu-Ray setup or the 3D distribution. Maybe I will do that.
GoGo Delicious is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 05-12-2011, 07:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by pointdexter02 View Post
Long story short, don't be too afraid of HDMI switching these days.
But...

Quote:
Originally Posted by pointdexter02 View Post
I never did hook up a reciever in the system for surround sound, but for my purposes, I'm very happy with the result.
Which is why you didn't run into the big issues with HDMI audio distribution.

Glad it worked out for you, just be prepared for some headaches if you try to add 5.1 systems to the mix...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 05-19-2011, 11:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 8,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 284
HDMI is literally the worst possible interface those Hollywood jackinapes could have come up with!

Lousy, flimsy connector, high jitter rate, long-run cable problems, QC issues, about a new cable version a year it seems, makes for horrible A/V distribution, etc. etc.

They better do high quality Fiber Optic or something similar to that the next go around.

Listen up, studios! Just say "NO" to DNR and EE!!
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 05-19-2011, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrted46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 831
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisWiggles View Post

1) HDMI distribution is a clusterf**k nightmare. HDMI distribution isn't even in my vocabulary.

2) as far as audio, yes it will see the TVs and downgrade everything to stereo. You will need a separate SPDIF out for 5.1 and will not get high res. Or you will need to have a more advanced switcher that can make sure all the outputs are physically off to the TVs so they aren't seen by the sources.

Basically, if you want to distribute stuff, distribute component video and stereo analog audio to the TV. Do 1080p HDMI locally only.

Or you're asking for an ass-kicking.

Awesome!
mrted46 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-19-2011, 07:23 PM
Member
 
DallasKnox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Largo,Fl (Tampa)
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI has some definite limitations, but the extremes your taking it too seem harsh.

I think the majority of the problems are a lack of understanding in distribution and bandwidth allocation. With long runs (Especially runs utilizing in-proper cabling), you run the risk of bandwidth bleed.If you plan your runs and use the proper equipment, HDMI can be a blessing. With the ability to buy discrete capable equipment (for EDID and Handshake), at a reasonable price you can setup whole home HD distribution pretty reasonably.

Just the other day CEPRO and SnapAV held a really great webinar addressing distribution of HDMI. I highly recommend it as primer for anyone interested in using HDMI for WholeHome.

http://www.cepro.com/webinars/detail..._make_it_work/

Dallas Knox
DallasKnox is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 05-13-2014, 10:45 AM
Newbie
 
mnicic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi There,

 

im in the middle of setting up installing a HDMI distribution around my home, i have installed Cat6A around the house currently, your post about the system you set up at home is the closet thing i can find on the net to what i want to achieve, (on a smaller scale)

 

I have 3 inputs.

 

HD Sat

PS3

Blu ray player

HDMI DVR for CCTV

 

I then have 4 TVs on the system which i would like to view monitor all inputs. how do you go about controlling the PS3 from multiple rooms? also same for Blu ray? you mentioned a Logitech harmony 1100, I'm guessing this will be suitable for Blue ray and satellite? 

 

What did you do for IR Control?

 

Your help would be gratefully appreciated.

 

Marc!

mnicic1 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 05-15-2014, 01:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 61
A few things have changed since 2011 (most systems now utilise HDBaseT and run over a single CAT cable) – though the basics are still much the same (though with less of the hassles we faced in 2011). wink.gif

With a single CAT6 you can now distribute and control multiple HDMI equipped Sources to multiple Zones around your home.

Choose wisely and the HDMI over single CAT system will provided ‘Routed’ IR to allow you to control any Source from Any Zone and where required have two or more of the same sources being controlled from different Zones without IR clashes.

The PS3 is controlled via Bluetooth (if using the game pad) or you can add in an IR controller for BD/DVD playback – are you looking to utilise it for Game or DVD/Blu/ray playback?

You can either use multiple OEM remotes in each Zone or use a programmable remote in each Zone – there is also the option to use Apps plus an iOS or Android Tablet these days.

We have a 4 Input Matrix with up-to 8 plugin Output cards which can be configured as a 4x4 – see http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI_Matrix_HDbaseT_HD4xSTPMX_over%20CAT6.html

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off