New HTD Lync Whole-House Audio System - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 64 Old 12-07-2011, 09:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Quill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
@Capaill - Full disclosure--I'm in the "finalizing blueprints" mode of new construction, so I've just been dabbling with the software that's out there (demopad) and finalizing my shopping list for whole home A/V (HTD Lync + monoprice + Emotiva).

With this in mind, I've not used the MC product. That said, from what I can gather, controlling the Lync system via iPad & wifi would mean using itach (to IR or 232) or potentially remotely accessing a PC.....all of which I can avoid with the MC.

I think.

...just my $.02 - GST included.
Quill is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 64 Old 10-18-2012, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
ScottR5973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am considering purchasing the MCA-66 and utilizing at least 1, possibly 2 Apple Airport Express' as inputs. This should allow me to wirelessly stream music off of any iDevice (iPhone, iPad, iPod) into the MCA-66. From the keypads I should be able to select either one of the Airport Express units to connect to and stream my music of choice into a Room/Zone. Doing it this way should eliminate the need for a PC or having to use the built in MP3 player and music selection/playlist/shuffling/etc is controlled directly from the iDevice. My only concern is the ability to custom label the Source. I would like to be able to name them something like AirPlay1, and AirPlay2. I realize I can use custom labels in Lync but it appears as though the MCA-66 has predefined source labels. I guess I could name my AirPort Express units so they mirror whatever source label I use on the MCA-66/keypad.

This setup should also allow me to have multiple iDevices streaming simultaneously into the MCA-66.

I also already have iRule Builder and iTach components in my house. I anticipate creating the appropriate screens in iRule to select a Zone, Source, Volume level. This should give me complete control of the HTD system via any iDevice as well.

This looks like a great system for the money.
ScottR5973 is offline  
post #63 of 64 Old 06-30-2014, 10:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Trouble ordering from HTD

The product looks good on the web, but I tried to place an order and ran into a buzz saw. The company has some very odd credit card validation rules that led me to cancel my order. I'm not sure if it is a small fly-by-night operation or if this is a one off problem. It seems like they are operating from a 1994 credit card technology standpoint.
bob3107 is offline  
post #64 of 64 Old 08-28-2014, 05:37 PM
Member
 
dmbandtimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Weird. I just ordered mine and no problems at all and I paid with credit card. Maybe they've updated things? Very helpful. I am pumped to get it.
dmbandtimmy is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off