Where to find a contractor/company to pull CAT5e/CAT6 through my home? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 01-31-2011, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We moved into our near 100 year old house last year. It's a 3 story colonial that's been renovated a couple of times in the last 15 years, including once back in 98 when the owner installed a great (for the time) HT.

There are more than enough R6 drops in the house, but I need to add about 10-15 CAT5e or CAT6 drops on all 3 floors and the basement. I also want to run a few HDMI cables in the HT and some other tidying up as I adjust the position of the mount for the projector.

As I am new to this I was looking for some advice on where you find someone to pull network cable through an existing home. I am not sure I need the expertise of a full on HT installer to do this, but, I do want it done correctly.

I searched the forums and didn't see anything that answered this for me.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 02-01-2011, 07:51 PM - Thread Starter

Bump. Anyone? I am in northern NJ if it makes a difference.
post #3 of 8 Old 02-01-2011, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Yeah, a location helps if you're looking for a direct reference...

You can check the CEDIA dealer database (www.cedia.net) and give a few of them a call in your area to see if they'll do that type of work. Otherwise, best bet may be a security installer, as they tend to get a lot of difficult retrofit work and may be the most experienced.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

post #4 of 8 Old 02-01-2011, 08:59 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You may wanto ask a full blown AV designer anyways for references.