CCTV Cable Suggestions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-14-2011, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
 
ishmael62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope I am in the right area...

I'm installing a CCTV system in my home. 4 cameras, 1 DVR. It is pretty basic. I found what I want for cameras and DVR but I have read that a lot of issues arrive with the cables that you run. I don't want to spend too much money on it and found RG59 Cable online.

Has anyone had experience with this cable? Is this cable a good price?

I found more expensive cable online but wanted to get some advice before a spend a hefty chunk of cash on cable. Also, you probably know it would be a hassle to install the cable just to find out you have to tear it out because it doesn't work right.

Thanks for your help!
ishmael62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-14-2011, 02:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fletch999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Livonia, MI
Posts: 1,332
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It all depends on what type of cameras you have. Also, what about power? If the camera uses 59 to move the video around, it likely needs at least a 2 conductor wire to power the camera.
fletch999 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-14-2011, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Yeah, and the cable the OP is considering is a siamese cable with power conductors...
Colm is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-14-2011, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cctvtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
It's good that the cable has 96% braided copper shielding (1/2 of CCTV requirements) but there is no mention of the center conductor, which should be 100% pure copper.

Be careful!!! Some cheap CCTV cables use copper-clad steel center conductors, which are cheaper but lose too much signal over distance. Steel is not a good conductor.

Be seeing you!
cctvtech is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-14-2011, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
 
ishmael62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fletch999 View Post

It all depends on what type of cameras you have. Also, what about power? If the camera uses 59 to move the video around, it likely needs at least a 2 conductor wire to power the camera.

You are right. I forgot to mention that the indoor/outdoor cameras use RG59 and need power. That is why I thought this cable might work well because it is siamese cable which has both the video and power connections.
ishmael62 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-14-2011, 04:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
How long is the longest cable going to be? Are the cameras color or black and white?
Colm is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-15-2011, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cctvtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 21
You can probably use CCA cable for runs up to a couple hundred feet but be aware that aluminum cable is not as flexible as copper so keep large bend radii.

Be seeing you!
cctvtech is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off