Monoprice HDMI Switches/Splitters - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-26-2011, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jryan388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm kind of a noob to av, so please pardon any idiocy in this question.
Why would one pay $1k+ for a 4x4 HDMI matrix when Monoprice sells one for around $150? Same with 1x2, 1x4, 1x8, etc...
jryan388 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-27-2011, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Zellarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 250
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One could ask the same about cars, Kia and Ferarri
Zellarman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-27-2011, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jryan388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good idea for an analogy, not sure I'd buy a Kia though =P
So really Monoprice pwns all? That's great, because I don't have a spare 2k lying around.
Do you know of anyone that sells a reasonably priced 4x8 matrix with at least 1.3a spec (for 3d)?
jryan388 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 09-28-2011, 01:32 PM
Member
 
KO Abear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Brusly, Louisiana (just upriver from New Orleans)
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own and use several monoprice HDMI splitters and switchers and they all work perfectly.
KO Abear is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-03-2011, 05:19 AM
Member
 
bbrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KO Abear View Post

I own and use several monoprice HDMI splitters and switchers and they all work perfectly.

Bear, I have a question since I currently have a wee problem with my monoprice 1-->2 switches. As they are both in the same "circuit" I may have some handshake issues which are causing a regular buzzing in my sub. Everything else works perfectly.

Here's the deal: From my cable box I go HDMI to Switch #1. Output goes to TV and receiver (for regular viewing I just want to switch on the TV and listen thru TV speakers, only occasionally I might watch a movie via the receiver and 7.1 speakers). From the receiver out, I go to Switch # 2, which goes back to a different HDMI input on the TV or my projector. (Since my receiver has only one HDMI output I want to avoid unplugging/swapping between TV and projector).

It all works beautifully so far EXCEPT: I get an intermittent buzz, sort of a beep - beep - beep about once a second coming from the sub. It seems like I'm listening to all this handshaking which must be going on with 2 switches. If I play a BD, I still hear it even though I'm only using Switch # 2, i.e. from receiver to projector. If I power down (unplug the DC supplies) to both adaptors I just get a blank screen - and a Handshake error message - probably understandable). If I power down Switch #1, but leave it connected I still get the buzzing.

I still have to try removing Switch #1 completely from the circuit thereby going to a situation with just one switch, and will update. But am curious to know if you have had these kind of issues.
bbrio is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-03-2011, 02:42 PM
Member
 
bbrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a quick update. I'm no longer sure the problem is coming from the switches after a bit more experimentation. I think the sub connect is picking up interference from somewhere, and I just finished moving receiver into a new rack so a lot of disconnecting/re-connecting has been going on here. Its quite difficult now to pull everything away from the wall and checking the wiring, but that's what I will do before blaming the switches (after all, they are doing everything else exactly as they should. It might also be a problem with the sub itself.
bbrio is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off