Just Multiroom Audio distribution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 11-07-2011, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before some one yells at me to do the research , I have already looked at this section and couldn't find any solution .

SO here is the requirement.
I have 3 audio (stereo) sources that I want to distribute to 4 zones of speakers.
So basically I am looking for an audio distribution Amp / switcher .

does anyone have any particular product in mind other than the russound , niles ...Etc . I just want the amp to distribute the audio and should have IR ...

Thanks in Advance
ravi355 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 11-07-2011, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
You're still describing a "Whole House Audio" or "multizone" system...

>> Other than Russound, Niles, etc.

So other than the companies that make products for this application???

For "less expensive" solutions, look at Aton, HTD.com and perhaps a few others.

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 33 Old 11-07-2011, 02:47 PM
Member
 
ericspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Xantech Digi5 piece is nice and now that they have lowered the price its really a good value
ericspencer is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 11-07-2011, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericspencer View Post

The Xantech Digi5 piece is nice and now that they have lowered the price its really a good value

I am just looking at a amplifier kind of system with multi zone options as I plan to just use a universal remote to change the zones as I don't have cat5 to all the zknesy
ravi355 is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 11-07-2011, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

I am just looking at a amplifier kind of system with multi zone options as I plan to just use a universal remote to change the zones as I don't have cat5 to all the zknesy

zkensy?

Do you want different sources playing in different zones simultaneously? If not, then an amp and a remote speaker selector would do the trick. Check out the speaker "router" from Aton if you're going to use an RF remote or iDevice...

http://www.atonhome.com/DLA4Room.html

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #6 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
canuck_fr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are also a few solutions from a Receiver end from Marantz, Onkyo, Yamaha, Denon etc.. that will allow 2-3 zones and wireless remote with and Ipad/Iphone.
canuck_fr is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

I am just looking at a amplifier kind of system with multi zone options as I plan to just use a universal remote to change the zones as I don't have cat5 to all the zknesy

correction - zknesy ( I meant zones - Stupid auto correction in the phone )
ravi355 is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aton looks nice , I may have to look at their audio distribution package as my budget was only upto $500 , but if I can get a couple of wall plates I might consider that package .

yes , I am looking for a multi source to multi zone amplifier ...
ravi355 is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,078
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 79
How will you control from each zone, without IR or a wired keypad? The price of Russound, Nuvo, etc jumps because it includes the control option (keypads).

If you're going to run a cable for IR to each zone, you might want to run an ethernet cable too, for futureproofing.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is online now  
post #10 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 08:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was actually thinking about hooking up the HTPC,CD player and Satellite as three zones and use a Audio matrix switch to be controlled by an RF remote so that I dont have to spend money on the wall plates that cost as much as individual switches .
ravi355 is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found this from ATON .

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Aton-DH44KT-...6032%26ps%3D54

What do you all think ?
ravi355 is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

I found this from ATON .

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Aton-DH44KT-...6032%26ps%3D54

What do you all think ?

That's close to the price available from Internet sellers (unauthorized dealers), I'd go with one of them instead...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #13 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 01:13 PM
Member
 
ericspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

I found this from ATON .

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Aton-DH44KT-...6032%26ps%3D54

What do you all think ?

You can get the xantech d5rhk system I mentioned earlier (which is basically the same as the Aton - both use the Linear owned digi5 technology) ... brand new, full warranty and support for less than the ebay listing .. we been buying from a local distributor for under $675 .. when I did a google search I found a place that we buy stuff from that is selling it for $710.00
ericspencer is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thing is , After looking at the wall panel from Aton , the xantech stuff looks old technology and I am more confused now
ravi355 is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 02:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

Thing is , After looking at the wall panel from Aton , the xantech stuff looks old technology and I am more confused now

The Aton keypads are actually less sophisticated than the Xantech ones - the image you see on the Aton is a drawn graphic, not an LCD/OLED display... It's just a series of LED's to display the source # and volume level. The Xantech keypad has a small display that allows you to customize the source name, for example.

(Looking more at the Xantech Digi5 implementation, I'm liking it more than their Aton cousin... The choice of rack-mount or wall-mount for the hub is a great option to have)

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #16 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 02:41 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so the xantech one should be installed by a dealer or can I do it myself ?
the reason being , would they provide the online/phone support if needed ?
ravi355 is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

so the xantech one should be installed by a dealer or can I do it myself ?
the reason being , would they provide the online/phone support if needed ?

Read the installation manual. If it makes sense to you, and if you are comfortable running wires, terminating Cat5 / RJ45 connections, and other related tasks you can do it yourself. Xantech support has always been helpful, but I wouldn't expect them to hold your hand through an installation. Having the skills and performing the work is what their dealer/installer network is trained for and is paid to do...

If you don't have a cat5 cable/connector tester, get one before you attempt any installation... Terminating RJ45 correctly is probably the hardest part of the install (not counting retrofit cable runs). The rest is plugging cables.

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #18 of 33 Old 11-08-2011, 02:58 PM
Member
 
ericspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

so the xantech one should be installed by a dealer or can I do it myself ?
the reason being , would they provide the online/phone support if needed ?

I have installed 5 or 6 of them and they are a really easy install.. so I think they are DIY freindly

Like any place you buy online from, you should be sure they support what they sell .. any legit distributor is going to stand behind the products they sell.
ericspencer is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 08:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like the Xantech combo package shown here

http://www.amazon.com/XANTECH-D5RHK-...ref=pd_sbs_e_1

But the problem is that the Installation manual doesn't provide much info about how to customize the source names on the wall plates . ..

Does any one has that manual ?


Also , I was told that smart-home and parts express are the only authorized dealers and smart-home doesn't sell this package and I have to buy all the items individually .
ravi355 is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 09:15 AM
Member
 
ericspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

I like the Xantech combo package shown here

http://www.amazon.com/XANTECH-D5RHK-...ref=pd_sbs_e_1

But the problem is that the Installation manual doesn't provide much info about how to customize the source names on the wall plates . ..

Does any one has that manual ?


Also , I was told that smart-home and parts express are the only authorized dealers and smart-home doesn't sell this package and I have to buy all the items individually .

They keypad manual covers it briefly - page 20 http://xantech.com/files/manuals/429...structions.pdf

We buy a lot from tselectronic .. I know they are an authorized xantech distributor .. its where we buy all of our xantech! They have the D5RHK listed on their site
ericspencer is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can You get me a quote to have this package shipped to 75028
ravi355 is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 09:47 AM
Member
 
ericspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravi355 View Post

Can You get me a quote to have this package shipped to 75028

I am afraid thats something you've got to do on your own mate. Google 'em and get the shipping charge from their site
ericspencer is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 11:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info . Ordered it from them and hopefully I can register my product wit Xantech once its here for warranty purposes .

Will keep you all updated
ravi355 is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now to search for a decent set of speakers to go with this .

Can Anyone refer me some good ones . I need a Pair of Inwall and 3 pairs of in ceiling 6-8 inch ones .
ravi355 is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
canuck_fr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much are you willing to spend?

How large are the rooms?
canuck_fr is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$200 for each pair .
ravi355 is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 11-09-2011, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
canuck_fr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In walls: http://emotiva.com/uaw82.shtm

In ceilings: http://emotiva.com/uac82.shtm

Other choices:

http://www.htd.com/Products/high-definition

http://www.outdoorspeakerdepot.com/8...-speakers.html
- ACE 800 or ACE 840 the others are not worth the money.

Hope this helps...
canuck_fr is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 11-10-2011, 10:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the links

Bought the Emotiva's and one HD-W80 in wall set .

Will install them next week as soon as I get these
ravi355 is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 11-10-2011, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
canuck_fr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Give us feedback on what you like / dislike. Let the speakers break in at least 10 hours before making a comment on the sound quality.
canuck_fr is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 12-06-2011, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ravi355's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed the Xantech Digi5 last week and not sure why the sound quality is not that good . I mean , I tested the speakers when installed by playing songs from a CD changer and hooking them directly to the Speakers and the sound was good . But once I attach the wall controllers and Xantech 4 zone controller , the same songs sound so Bad . I mean there is no good base in the sound .

I even fiddled with the setup settings and still cannot figure it out . Could it be due to the fact that the cat5 is about 100ft ?
ravi355 is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off