Powerlines vs. Dedicated Video Wires? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-25-2012, 09:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
tripleM's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,049
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm new to all of this A/V distribution fun...so please pardon the ignorance or misinform concepts!
Also, this is our first brand new house & putting in wires would be considered an upcharge for the builder.

Gathering some opinions on using the home power lines as the 'pipes' vs. Cat6/RG6/RG5 wires to deliver all video signal (BD, Cable/Sat TV, DVR, HTPC).
  1. Is this a viable alternative to dedicate video wires?
  2. What connects to the back of the HDTV's from the AC outlets to be able to get the signal?
  3. What about audio? Can the powerlines provide audio also?

Panasonic TC-P60ST60 + Sony STR-DG810 + LG BH200 + JBL L830's x2 + JBL LC1 + JBL Loft40 x 2 + Polk PSW10 + Harmony One
tripleM is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 01-25-2012, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
jzoz01's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can do networking over the powerlines, but it is slower and more expensive than cat5, plus I would assume it introduces quite a bit of noise into the line. It's typically seen as a retrofit solution, not a new construction solution. Run Cat6 and RG6 and run a lot of it. Much cheaper now than when the walls are up.

You may want to get an AV integrator in to give you pricing on a proper pre-wire so you're not stuck later with no options. If pre-wired properly, you'll be able to do what ever you'd like hardware wise down the road.
jzoz01 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-25-2012, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
MrBobb's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 61
So are u saying u don't want to open walls if u don't have to?

Powerlines are for that reason. People renting etc, but u own the place. Powerlines is not a substitute for the real thing.
MrBobb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page

Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off