HDMI 3D audio - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-13-2012, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Arcticbear84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure if this is the right place for the question. So I apologize in advance if it's in the wrong place.

I have a friend that has a Sony 3D TV, and a Sony 3D Blu-Ray player.
but he's Yamaha receiver does not support 3D.

Is there a box that has 1 input and 2 outputs.
1 output goes to TV for video
1 output goes to Yamaha for HD audio

If not, can anyone recommend a dual output DVD player, we couldn't find any at our local Best Buy

Thanks!
Arcticbear84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-13-2012, 02:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Simplest answer is to run HDMI directly to the TV, and a separate digital audio cable to the receiver. Only downside is if the receiver has support for DTS-MA, you wouldn't get that (only DTS or DD5.1).

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-14-2012, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Arcticbear84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks jautor for the quick response.
Your solution is what we are running right now. But he wants to have the HD audio ability back. He said he can tell the difference between DTS5.1 and DTS-Master Audio (I can't, to be honest).
Arcticbear84 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-14-2012, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Ok, then the next answer is an HDMI splitter and a Gefen HDMI Detective to fool the BD player into thinking both components are 3D-capable.

Or sell the Yamaha and buy a 3D-capable receiver, which may not cost much more and he'd probably get some new features (Pandora? Spotify?) and better results...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-14-2012, 10:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
dharel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Isle of Long
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 33
If your friend is willing to spend the money, an OPPO 93 will do what you want as it has dual HDMI outputs. HDMI1 to TV and HDMI2 to receiver.
dharel is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-14-2012, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Arcticbear84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We just tried it with Atlona 1x2 unit.
The TV has 3D with Dolby Digital 5.1 fine, but Yamaha is flashing PCM 2-channel with no sound.
We probably gonna search for a dual output DVD player or another receiver depends on which one is cheaper.
Thanks for the help!
Arcticbear84 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 07:14 PM
Member
 
jeffro23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Apex,NC
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ill use this topic to ask a related question, though much less tech savvy

seems like a common problem.... got a new LG 3D TV, My pioneer Elite VSX-01TXH doesnt support 3D.

I really dont want to drop another grand on a new receiver and the audio from the Elite is superb. (unless theres a receommended replacement suggestion???)

So... do I run the HDMI from the source players (PS3/DirecTV HR24) to the TV(LG 55LM7600) and then optical audio back to the Pioneer receiver?

or...

run the HDMI video only from the source players to the TV and the audio seperately to the Pioneer?

2nd one would require 2 seperate switching but My Harmony remote should be able to handle it.

Just wanted to see which would produce the best audio (if noticeable difference)

thanks
jeffro23 is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-19-2012, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 340
No difference since DirecTV is only sending DD anyway... Check if your TV will output digital audio from HDMI sources, but you may still have better luck with the separate cable anyway...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off