Whole House Headphones...and then some - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 12 Old 03-14-2012, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm a AV systems installer and I've recently gotten a unique request. The designer on a project I'm working on is asking for a wireless headphone system that can work throughout a 2500 square foot home (already I'm stumped, I haven't had that request, and I'm not sure what to suggest). Then he goes on to ask about features like the phone and doorbell interrupting the audio in the headphones and giving you the ability to talk to the person on the other end. Has anyone ever come across something that even gets close? Any suggestions would be great. Thanks.
-Rob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 03-14-2012, 09:57 PM

Liked: 10
Probably not helpful, but what jumped to my mind is the headphone systems they use in foreign language programs at the high school and college level. Instructor can play aux media that all students listen to, can talk to or listen to all students or individual students, etc. the system I remember wasnt pretty to look at but it worked and was pretty portable other than the wiring for the antenna. Hope that maybe gives you a starting point.
post #3 of 12 Old 03-14-2012, 09:59 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 312
Not the answer you're looking for, maybe carry an iPhone in the pocket. I'm sure there's a wan link to a door intercom.
post #4 of 12 Old 03-15-2012, 12:00 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 365
I've seen some Bluetooth headphone sets that had a pretty remarkable range (can't remember any vendor in particular). Use the (hopefully present!) whole house audio zone to integrate the doorbell/phone chime interrupt. Not going to get a headset/two-way with that, though.