Sonos whole house help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-09-2012, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
davidlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

So I'm in the final stages of completing my house. It's been wired to provide audio using the xantech digi-5 system seen below. The house has 4 rooms I would like audio in with a pair of speakers already installed (by me) in each of these rooms.

http://www.tselectronic.com/shop/pro...ion-System/149

Each room right now has 1 cat5 cable and 1 16/2 speaker wire going to each keypad location in each room from the basement, and then 2 16/2 speaker wire going from the keypad location to the 2 speakers in the room. At this point it is too late to change any of the wiring in the house. I have yet to purchase the actual system as I want to perhaps explore a different option.

My initial thinking was to buy 1 sonos zoneplayer and have that distributed to each of the 4 rooms, and if I need another I would buy another. But I've since realized that it might make more sense to just buy 4 sonos zoneplayers and control all the rooms straight from the sonos iOS controller. The advantage of this becomes I can independently or all together control each individual room and wouldn't have to deal with physically going to the keypad to turn on/off each room. If I were to go this route I was thinking of running each zoneplayer off a very small efficient amplifier, like the Lepai seen here:

http://www.parts-express.com/pe/psho...10-300&scqty=2

My questions are these:

1. All my speakers are 8 ohm, thus from what I understand, by connecting my 2 speakers in each room to the 1 16/2 speaker wire that goes into the basement I am creating a 4 ohm load and going from stereo sound to mono sound. Is this correct? Would the Lepai be able to handle this or should I look into something more powerful? I have bought 1 and hooked it up and it provides more than enough power for even my largest room right now, but I don't know how it would handle a 4 ohm load. Can anyone recommend an amp that might be better?

2. Is there some limitation in connecting the 16/2 cable to 2 16/2 speaker cables that I should know about?

3. Finally, should I just go with the original system and abandon the Sonos plan as I am losing stereo sound (which granted, I probably won't even notice) and it's not what I initially wired the house for.

Thanks A LOT for any input
David
davidlan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-09-2012, 09:44 AM
Member
 
ericspencer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Personally I would skip that little amp and either do all Sonos or stick with the xantech piece. I know the xantech piece has an rs232 port on it and I would bet you could use irule & global cache or another similar to control the digi5 unit with rs232
ericspencer is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 04-09-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,818
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Did you run this wire or was it run for you? Are you SURE that the home run is 16/2 and not 16/4? Very common for a 4-conductor wire to be used for those runs - if you haven't looked carefully at the cable, you may have assumed incorrectly.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 04-09-2012, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
davidlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am 100% sure it is 16/2, as that's what was run for the auxiliary power for the digi-5 keypads.

ericspencer: It does indeed have an rs232 port, what software interface could I use to control the system if I were to use irule & global cache?

Thanks
David
davidlan is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 04-09-2012, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,818
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Ah, ok, rats...

I think I'd stick with the Xantech piece as well and use a single Sonos unit to start - you can always add more if you end up using more than one source at a time.

If you can get the serial control protocol doc from Xantech or a dealer, it should be straightforward (but will take some work) to make iRule controls for it (using a Global Cache iTach RS232).

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-09-2012, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
davidlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So forget about having 1 sonos zoneplayer for every room? I'm not married to that Lepai amp. . .

Is it not worth trying to run 2 speakers off the 16/2 that I have running to each room?
davidlan is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off