dog dug up fiber optic: need to rewire - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-15-2012, 04:42 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 369
our new puppy found my Owl Link fiber optic cable runs to 3 rooms: I had installed the fiber optic runs myself several years ago to distribute HD

the Owlink gear is old and not the latest version of HDMI: so I want to upgrade anyway

problem is there are no cable runs available: best I can think of is to run CAT 6 on outside of house: it is a 100 ft run max: was thinking of an HDbase T HDMI balun...or Just Add Power? or I could run RG6

I need recommendations of what to use that is the latest HDMI spec

any suggestions would be appreciated...
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-15-2012, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
IMHO HDBaseT is your best bet for longer runs.
Colm is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-16-2012, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,928
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

IMHO HDBaseT is your best bet for longer runs.

any recommendations on make/model?

Thanks
markrubin is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off