Mono Audio needed in every room of House... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-21-2012, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
joebrez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good Moring,

I have a house that already has internal audio installed. Each Room has a volume control and 1-2 speakers installed. The odd thing, all runs only have 2 wire runs to each room, essentially a MONO setup. I'm guessing the design was due to some rooms only having one speaker (bathrooms etc.). The problem is my receiver doesn't have a MONO mode. So I only hear one side of the track.

My setup is an iPod in a iPod docking station outputting to a 1/8 stereo to dual RCA cable, which is fed into the AUX ports of an older Kenwood VR-405 receiver. Being that the house is not fitted with conduit, running the additional source line to the volume controls will be very costly.
Is there an easy and inexpensive way to convert the output from the Kenwood into a Mono signal? I did try a Radio Shack Stereo to Mono converter running off the iPod dock, but would not output anything but a rhythmic clicking noise. I removed the adapter, and sound returned. Yes, odd I know.

I've heard about the resistor method, but also heard sound quality is greatly reduced.

Just looking for ideas

Thank!
joebrez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-21-2012, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
joebrez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just had an idea, don't know if anyone has tried it.

What if I took the stereo RCA signal from the ipod into a RCA Y Cable that takes the signal from stereo to mono, then another Y cable that takes the Mono back into two signals for the amp? Would that work?
joebrez is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-21-2012, 07:58 AM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:


I did try a Radio Shack Stereo to Mono converter running off the iPod dock, but would not output anything but a rhythmic clicking noise.

Did you connect this device to the outputs? You were probably hearing the protection relays clicking

Quote:


I've heard about the resistor method, but also heard sound quality is greatly reduced.

Resistors don't reduce sound quality.

You need to make the line level source mono by combining both channels, through series resistors.
If you can solder, you can do this for a few pennies.
SAM64 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-21-2012, 08:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Glackowitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
here is a link to a stereo to mono signal converter in line level

would need one on each source
http://www.audioplex.com/llsc1.htm

or

something like this on the speaker outputs at the main receiver
http://www.audioplex.com/MonoMixer.htm
Glackowitz is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-22-2012, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
joebrez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Glackowitz;21934122]here is a link to a stereo to mono signal converter in line level



Thanks. I sent the company an email with recommendation on both devices.
joebrez is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-23-2012, 12:42 AM
Member
 
stefan.hallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

You need to make the line level source mono by combining both channels, through series resistors.
If you can solder, you can do this for a few pennies.

I did it without soldering... Very simple, based it on this guys designs: http://www.rane.com/note109.html
stefan.hallen is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-23-2012, 12:43 AM
Member
 
stefan.hallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joebrez View Post

I just had an idea, don't know if anyone has tried it.

What if I took the stereo RCA signal from the ipod into a RCA Y Cable that takes the signal from stereo to mono, then another Y cable that takes the Mono back into two signals for the amp? Would that work?

Absolutely not. Never use Y cables to combine signals, you might destroy your equipment.
stefan.hallen is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off