80' HDMI run and Repeater / Extender - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-27-2012, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mmurrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to run video from my Receiver in the wall to my tv hanging 35 feet away. Due to vaulted ceilings and wall runs I think I need 70 feet total but I don't want to short it.

while I have run 50' in a single cable with no issues, I'm not sure about running 100' strait cable, even if it says it's got an inline booster (eg this or this). Should I use something like that or a HDMI Extender / booster?

Also, if I use a booster does it have to go in the middle of two shorter cables or can I put it on either end?

The eventual media will be HD cable tv, Xbox, blu ray, and wii all switched and controlled from the home theater receiver, and output via A single hdmi run to the tv.

Thanks for any advice...
mmurrell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-27-2012, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
How about instead of an HDMI cable you run a few Cat 6/5e cables and use some HDMI baluns on each side? It will definitely be the more reliable option.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-27-2012, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Arcticbear84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For 80ft, I think you have to use 24AWG to get reliable transmission.
The second link you provided is for a 24AWG, but the seller has low stars.
You can either get just a 24AWG cable with an HDMI Extender or
a balun, HDMI over CAT extender
Arcticbear84 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-27-2012, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Concur that at that length you should be looking at a balun solution. Suggest you look into an HDBaseT product. Monoprice has one for <$200. Only needs 1 Cat5e cable. But if this is new construction (not a retrofit), I would recommend you run 2-3 Cat5e/Cat6 to a new projector location anyway, as well as a flex conduit for "the future".

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off