Weird issue I can't figure out - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-30-2012, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GoldenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having an odd problem that I can't figure out what would cause it.

First, I'm not an A/V expert, so this may be (hopefully) obvious and an easy fix.

I posted here a month or so ago about splitting my Tivo signal into 2 rooms. I took some advice given and everything seems to work great (went with basic HDMI splitter and and RF remote relay).

Now the weird part is that when I use the DVD player in the LR (main set up is there, including Tivo) the DVD remote is turning on the TV in the other room and if I turn that TV off (even with the button on the TV) it turns the DVD player off in the LR. What is baffling me is that the DVD in LR is not connected to the new set up in any direct way.

Any help, explanation and especially solution would be greatly appreciated...

Thanks!
GoldenD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-30-2012, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,769
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Sounds like HDMI CEC. Turn off anything called sync or link in all your devices.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-30-2012, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post

Sounds like HDMI CEC. Turn off anything called sync or link in all your devices.

+1. I'm pretty sure all the TV's in HELL have CEC permanently enabled.

------


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-30-2012, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GoldenD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks...I turned it off on the BR TV (secondary one) and this seems to have worked.

Could you tell me what this function is for and also why it would be effected by a device that is not even directly hooked up to it. DVD goes only to TV #1. Tivo is split to TV #1 and #2. Trying to understand...

Thanks again!
GoldenD is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-30-2012, 08:52 PM
Senior Member
 
cntp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
CEC is a bus architecture - it connects to all devices on all ports. Another one of the things that makes HDMI nice for typical consumers, but bad for custom install type work.
cntp is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off