What type of wire should I install - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-02-2012, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
richardsonchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.

I'd like to start by mentioning that I'm very new to home automation. I'm a software developer by trade, living in the UK.

I'm looking to install speakers into nearly every room in my house.

My question is, what type of wire do I need to run to each room?

In the future, I'll also be looking to send video (HD) to various rooms too. In addition to that I will ultimately want to control lighting and CCTV over the Internet. Not sure if my future plans will affect what type of hardware I need right now.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
richardsonchris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-02-2012, 03:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
copper
ifor is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-02-2012, 03:46 PM
Member
 
txmxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
High speed HDMI + Cat 5e + speaker wire. Lighting control might require some additional conductors as well.
txmxer is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-02-2012, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 57
And add conduit (smurf tube) if in doubt
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-02-2012, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You need to decide on a distribution point in the house. Run Cat5e (or Cat6) and 4 conductor speaker wire to a volume control/keypad location in each room. Then run (2) 2 conductor speaker wire from the volume control/keypad to the speaker locations in that room.

This will give you the ability to have a basic volume control system right up to a full blown Crestron system. Unless you want touchscreens in each room, then I suggest calling a local AV company.

I don't know why someone suggested running HDMI?
ifor is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-02-2012, 11:31 PM
Member
 
stefan.hallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Run at least stereo speaker wire to each room, looped through volume control/keypad location. Run cat5e/6 to volume control/keypad location.

You might want to run surround sound speaker wire (so six speaker cables or more) to some rooms from central location (I did that for my living room).

Run at least two cat5e/cat6 cables to each room, can be used for ethernet, hdmi, IR, audio, whtever.

Run at least four cat5e/cat6 cables to each TV location. Maybe coax too (I didn't but I live in an apartment and won't get satellite or such).

You'll never regret running "too many" cables. Too few though...
stefan.hallen is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-07-2012, 02:15 PM
Member
 
piper1st's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stefan.hallen View Post

You'll never regret running "too many" cables.

+1 !!

Decide what you need, then run 2 or 3 more CAT5e/6's to be sure! Its so cheap to scrimp on, that you will likely regret it later if you don't!!
piper1st is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off