Wiring patio for tv and part time projector (outdoor movies/games) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 06-14-2012, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
sunsetpizza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are going to wire our covered patio for a tv. At the same time I want to be able to "easily" hook up a projector on a long hdmi cable to run to the yard for an outdoor movie screen.
I have easy attic access from our master bedroom to the location outdoors.
I'd like use the FIOS box in the bedroom for the signal outside since I really won't be watching TV on separate channels in both places at once.

So I need to run electric to the patio. I have an electrician friend coming over to help run wires but he admits he hasn't run too much audio/video. Before tuesday, I need to have whatever we need other than basic elec boxes and wires.

So how do I do this?
cable box and tv in MBR next to the patio – HD Verizon FIOS box.
TV outside with abililty to control channel changing on the indoor box. I think having the box indoors protects it from heat/moisture as well as a nice clean look outside.
Also outside I'd like to be able to hook up a secondary HDMI cable to run to the projector to show tv/movies/baseball games on a big screen - about 15' from the other tv. For simplicity a blue ray player could just sit beside the projector for DVD watching.
Lastly we need to run audio out of the tv to the RCA input jacks on my SONOS amp in the master bedroom to power tv sound to my "to be installed" patio speakers. The SONOS will in turn link to the other unit that runs the rock speakers behind the pool and I will have TV/movie sound all around the pool.

What types of jacks/hdmi switches, etc do I need to get to make this all work? Would I use some kind of IR repeater to be able to change channels outside? Any recommendations for that?

Thanks guys...
sunsetpizza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 06-17-2012, 01:35 PM
Member
 
AVService's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: STL
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Verizon box output in Component Video as well as HDMI?
I would consider this if available to the outside as it will be reliable where HDMI may not be.

IR is also a problem outside and maybe a remote that can use RF too is an option?

Also how far are the 2 TV locations from the source,in wire distance.

Ed
AVService is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off