Nuvo AM/FM tuner broken display repair - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 09-27-2012, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know the Nuvo NV-T2DF is no longer manufactured so if you want one you have to find a used one. However I'm seeing a pattern in most of the used units I find. Almost all of them have non-functioning displays.

Does anyone know what the problem is with them? I'm an engineer so I can fix most stuff unless its inside an IC that I can't purchase replacements of on the open market. I'm hoping its just a power supply issue or something simple.

Any info would be helpful. If anyone has a .pdf of the service manual that would be a big help.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 09-28-2012, 07:42 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 80
You may want to consider getting a music server instead. Most radio stations stream online, in the US.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
post #3 of 14 Old 09-28-2012, 08:25 AM - Thread Starter

Yes they do. However the streams I've listened to of the local stations I like seem to use a low bit rate and it sounds all warbly. And I don't want to spend ~$2.5k for the Nuvo music server.

I took a chance and bought one for $140. Hopefully I can get it to boot without the display working.
post #4 of 14 Old 11-14-2013, 05:42 PM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Jeff, were ever able to repair the display on the tuner?
post #5 of 14 Old 11-14-2013, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter

Hi

No I never did. However it does work. I got to communicate with it over serial and turned it on, tuned to a station and such. All seemed fine after I bought it.