My structural wiring closet - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 10-01-2012, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Andrew911tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
After being in my house for about 3 years and many different phases I think I am finally done with my structural wiring closet. The house was built in 1972 and is 1089sqft. This is in the office (center-ish part of the house) and started with a blank wall in the closet with no cables run anywhere. My lovely wife and I ran every cable up the wall and through the attic.

I have at least one Directv line, one Cable TV line, and 2 Cat 6 runs to each room.

I have the power panel (bottom right) run to the outlet underneath and then plug that into a UPS so if the power goes out I can run for at least an hour or longer if i turn some stuff off.

Andrew911tt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-01-2012, 03:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Looks great, well done! Pulling power from the inlet below and attaching the UPS is great - I did the same thing and it helps prevent all kinds of hiccups for momentary glitches.

Only issue I see is if you put the door on, having the wireless router inside is going to be an issue for wireless reception. I placed mine outside and arranged a pass-through for connectivity.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 10-01-2012, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Andrew911tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have a wireless access point another place in the house that I use most of the time. When I put the metal cover on I expecting it to become a faraday cage but I only dropped one bar
egnlsn likes this.
Andrew911tt is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 10-02-2012, 11:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hmm... looks like there is a splitter that is a bit crooked - yuck - gross. JUST KIDDING! smile.gif It looks very tidy - which I am very much in favor of.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-11-2013, 07:45 PM
Newbie
 
mykq32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Clean look, how did you attach the patch panel to the enclosure? I'm about to do the same but with a 24 port patch panel from mono price. Not sure it's feasible without fabricating something to attach it.
mykq32 is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-12-2013, 05:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 427
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I like the pink purse. smile.gif

No, really I see you took your time and thought everything out. Nice job.

(LCD - Sony KDL - XBR4) (Receiver - Sony STR-DA4ES)(Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83) (PS3)( Dish Hopper DVR With Sling) Speakers (L & R - Paradigm Studio 20) (Center -Paradigm CC-470) (Surrounds & Back Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15R in walls) (Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12) (Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100)
Skytrooper is online now  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-12-2013, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Andrew911tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am actually getting my new router today a TP-Link TL-ER6020. So after I move things around to fit that in I will take more pictures.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mykq32 View Post

Clean look, how did you attach the patch panel to the enclosure? I'm about to do the same but with a 24 port patch panel from mono price. Not sure it's feasible without fabricating something to attach it.
I used self tapping metal screws and mounted the "holder" directly to the right side frame. From the pictures it does not look like the 24 port have the "holder." Maybe you should use 2 12 ports patch panels. But remember it doesn't sit correctly if you run all 12 cables from one side.

Andrew911tt is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-12-2013, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
That D89 bracket usually ships with the 12-port patch panel.



The Monoprice 24 port patch panel is designed to be mounted in a 19" rack, not a low-voltage enclosure.

If you want to mount a 19" rack-mount device to a wall, you can buy a wall-mount rack or bracket.





You could also consider a small floor standing or wall-mount rack enclosure, near the LV enclosure.



Here are a couple relevant residential patch panel and enclosure threads.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1401721/please-recommend-12-port-patch-panel-cat5e-6-question

http://cocoontech.com/forums/topic/13756-my-1927-bungalow-home-structured-wiring-project/

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is online now  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-12-2013, 12:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Leviton offers some patch panels, for LV enclosures. This 24 port cat6 unit costs $200.



http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/ProductDetail.jsp?partnumber=476TM-624&section=39641&minisite=10251

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is online now  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-12-2013, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
mykq32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies. I'll look into these.
mykq32 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-12-2013, 10:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Andrew911tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here are more pictures

Networking equipment is:

Motorola SurfBoard SB6141
TP-Link TL-ER6020
Cisco SG200-08
Amped Wireless AP20000G (not in closet)













Andrew911tt is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off