HDMI Splitter Before Matrix? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 10-22-2012, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm trying to come up with a plan to distribute video in my basement as well as the main floor of my house. I am really trying to avoid paying for additional directv receivers which may be used infrequently.

My main priority is quality in my dedicated theater room.

My idea was to split my sources with a 1x2 HDMI splitter. Then feed one of the outputs to my AVR for the theater, and send the other to a 4x4 matrix to feed other TV's. There may also be an additional HDMI splitter after the 4x4 matrix.

Will this work or are there too many splitters? Here is a PDF of a rough diagram:

AV Diagram.pdf 94k .pdf file
Attached Files
File Type: pdf AV Diagram.pdf (93.8 KB, 21 views)
Gerry S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 10-22-2012, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 350
You should probably look at a 4x8 matrix. That setup looks very complicated and limiting, especially in the other rooms. Those locations may each be used infrequently, but can you really "tie" them together and still have a workable solution for your needs?

You could also do two 4x4 matrix switches, and dedicate sources to each "half" of your distribution, or perhaps a simple 1x4 splitter from one set-top box?

Note that wtih the amount of stuff you're buying to avoid a $6/month fee (I hate it too, but...), it may take years to break even.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 10-22-2012, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
If you can do a 4x8 matrix splitter, that would definitely be the preferred way. If not, your proposal should work just fine. One thing to remember, though, is that using an HDMI splitter, the lower resolution wins. In other words, if you're watching a bluray on the theater screen (1080p) and someone turns on TV 4 upstairs (720p) to watch it there also, there will be a momentary blip in the theater and it will come back on in 720p.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 10-22-2012, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I've got another idea,,,

My gut feeling was that my first plan was poor. Thanks for looking at it. I also dont like the idea of that momemtary blip and downgrading that could take place in the theater.

The 4x8 matrix may break my budget. Since I need a new AVR, I may look into the newer ones that provide 2 HDMI zones and lower my expectations a bit.

Maybe use the two zones of the receiver to feed my critical viewing areas, and then leverage the component out on my sources and distribute it to less critical areas with a component matrix?

Gerry S is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 10-22-2012, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 350
If you have a BD player with component output, that's a very workable plan...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #6 of 13 Old 10-22-2012, 09:50 PM
Member
 
themoderntheatre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What about a 4x4 matrix like the Binary one from SnapAV? It has simultaneous HDMI and single CAT6 outputs. Receivers are sold separately, but it could be a good solution.

Ryan Siu
Founder, Owner

The Modern Theatre LLC

themoderntheatre is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 10-24-2012, 03:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was reading that the Directtv Genie Clients will disable component out if it detects an active HDMI output on HDCP channels. From what I read that would be HBO and PPV's? Can anyone confirm if that is the case and if there are other HDCP channels I am missing?
Gerry S is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 10-24-2012, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry S View Post

I was reading that the Directtv Genie Clients will disable component out if it detects an active HDMI output on HDCP channels. From what I read that would be HBO and PPV's? Can anyone confirm if that is the case and if there are other HDCP channels I am missing?

I've seen it happen on PPV events on my HR2x boxes. Don't know if it's turned on for HBO. A good question for DBStalk...


Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #9 of 13 Old 10-24-2012, 04:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks Jeff. It seems there may be some gotchas with my component out plan as well. I am now considering your suggestion for splitting my sources into two 4x4 hdmi matrix zones. Regretfully I don't think I can spring for a 4x8 matrix given all the other expenses I have.
Gerry S is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 10-24-2012, 04:49 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Gerry S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I've continued poking around DBStalk and other places. I am not that concerned about the HDCP at this time, but who knows what the future holds.

Also I just picked up a used 6x4 component matrix.

I may just go ahead and try my component plan.

Just for safety I thought I would run the component/audio cables, as well as 3 CAT6 cables to each location in case I ever need HDMI and network connectivity. How about a COAX cable?

Any thoughts on what wires to run to each location? Once I drywall the ceiling I dont think I want to try running any more cables!
Gerry S is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 10-24-2012, 10:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gerry S View Post

How about a COAX cable?
Any thoughts on what wires to run to each location? Once I drywall the ceiling I dont think I want to try running any more cables!

You should definitely wire at least one RG6 coax to each display location, plus 3 category cables. You can run component over category with some baluns, or run a total of 5 coax lines (3 for component video, 2 for analog audio).

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 10-26-2012, 06:59 AM
Member
 
bnieman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jautor is right, run a total of 5 coax lines. Component video cables and RG6 coax are essentially the same cables with different connectors. They also work for coax digital audio. Highly versatile. I am looking at running 6 coax and 6 CAT6 to each room in my upcoming install.

Looking forward to hearing how your system works out.

Cheers
bnieman is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 10-26-2012, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by bnieman View Post

jautor is right, run a total of 5 coax lines. Component video cables and RG6 coax are essentially the same cables with different connectors. They also work for coax digital audio. Highly versatile. I am looking at running 6 coax and 6 CAT6 to each room in my upcoming install.

If you're going to multiple rooms with that much coax, you might want to look at a component matrix with cat5e. I'm using the Aton HDR44 (several of them). Does everything needed for the zones over 2 cat5e...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off