HDMI over CAT 6 wall plates with IR — IR not working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-10-2012, 11:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chirpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 70
So if you were to head over to monoprice and search for item 8008 you'd see the wall plates I'm using.

The HDMI part works great. It's the IR part that's giving me fits.

When I hook up the cable to a GLobal cache iTech to the sender side, and IR repeater with an eye to the receiving end, the led of the IR head that's supposed to attach to the component on the receiving end is glowing bright red the entire time rather than the occasional blinking red when it senses an IR signal.

Actually, even if nothing is plugged into the IR port on the sender side, the receiver side IR emitter head lights up red the entire time.

Needless to say, no signals get through. Not even a basic turn on/ turn off.

And I gotta say, I'm stumped.

Any thoughts?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 •
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

chirpie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-11-2012, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Are you using a "mono" or "stereo" 3.5mm cable connector? If the Monoprice sender is expecting that jack to be an IR receiver - it's a 3-signal plug (power, ground, signal). The emitter outputs are 2-signal (signal, ground).

The solid red indicates to me that signal-power may be shorted together as a result of using a mono cable...

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-11-2012, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chirpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 70
This is what I like to call a silver bullet answer. :-)

It's a stereo plug on the sender side that plugs into the wall plate and mono emitter plugging into the receiving end.

All I have are mono emitters to plug in on the receiving end.

Can I use a mono plug on the sender side or do I need to find different emitters for the receiving end? (stereo emitter)

Thanks so much. :-)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 •
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

chirpie is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-11-2012, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
You may be able to use a stereo 3.5mm cable to hook an emitter output. This will depend on the pinout of the connector on the Monoprice IR receiver input, and whether the emitter output strikes only the ring and not the shaft of the jack... Or you may have to fashion a cable to tie the 2-signal emitter output to two of the three pins on the IR receiver input.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-11-2012, 01:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
chirpie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 3,575
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Thanks for the ideas, they're appreciated!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 •
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

chirpie is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-12-2012, 06:19 AM
Member
 
Vyrolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you are using the iTach's output and going directly to the Monoprice, you cannot just use a simple cable. They are not compatible. They sell a cable specially designed for this purpose...you can get it on Amazon and here's the manual.
Vyrolan is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-12-2012, 06:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vyrolan View Post

If you are using the iTach's output and going directly to the Monoprice, you cannot just use a simple cable. They are not compatible. They sell a cable specially designed for this purpose...you can get it on Amazon and here's the manual.

That was my first thought. But if he's getting a solid "on" emitter, I think he's got other issues. I've hooked the iTach output to a few devices without the Xantech cable with success, but yes, he should probably expect to need the compatibility cable at some point, too.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-12-2012, 08:58 AM
Member
 
Vyrolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vyrolan View Post

If you are using the iTach's output and going directly to the Monoprice, you cannot just use a simple cable. They are not compatible. They sell a cable specially designed for this purpose...you can get it on Amazon and here's the manual.

That was my first thought. But if he's getting a solid "on" emitter, I think he's got other issues. I've hooked the iTach output to a few devices without the Xantech cable with success, but yes, he should probably expect to need the compatibility cable at some point, too.
Interesting... Without the various compatibility cables/adapters, I've gotten the solid emitter...I was assuming the power from the receiver port (since it think it will have to power a receiver) was somehow coming back and being seen as a constant signal. /shrug I do think you could probably create your own cable for it by reading and properly following the pinout/wiring instructions on both devices.
Vyrolan is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-12-2012, 10:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,896
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vyrolan View Post

Interesting... Without the various compatibility cables/adapters, I've gotten the solid emitter...I was assuming the power from the receiver port (since it think it will have to power a receiver) was somehow coming back and being seen as a constant signal. /shrug I do think you could probably create your own cable for it by reading and properly following the pinout/wiring instructions on both devices.

That's my assumption, too, that power from the receiver port is shorted to signal on the emitter output. I thought the compatibility cable was to deal with voltage differences (5V vs. 12V IR), but now that I think about it, the cable will also deal with the cabling mismatches, since the opto-isolators will receive power from the receiver-input side. So that probably is his best bet...

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off