Multi Zone Setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 33 Old 12-06-2012, 05:42 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm a newbie to the A/V scene. I bought a house two years ago that was wired for speakers in the living room, several rooms, and patio. Everywhere with the exception of the livingroom is also wired for volume control.

From what I've seen, I need a receiver capable of multiple zones and a speaker selector box. The living room will attach to the receiver and the speaker selector box will wore to the zone 2 of the receiver and the speakers from the other rooms will go to the speaker selector box. Right? I also understand that best option would be impedance matching volume controls in the rooms.

My question is this. The rooms will mostly be used for listening to music which will come from Apple TV. I've seen where in this setup the speaker selector will only play to devices hooked up by analog to the receiver. Is this outdated info?

Feeling like I can do this set up on my own, but also feeling a little overwhelmed. Any help appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 Old 12-06-2012, 07:56 AM

Liked: 13
What's your end goal? Do you want to be able to play multiple sources of music across multiple zones (and not always the same music in each zone)?

Assuming the above, I'd reccommend going with Sonos. A Sonos amp, which can power a couple sets of speakers, will cost you $500. Each Sonos amp is essentially 1 zone. So, for each amp, you can have a different source of music playing. Or, they can all play the same music. And it connects to your iTunes so you won't have to use the airplay. And it's all controlled from your iPhone / iPad / Android.

In the LR, do you have a 5.1 speaker setup? If so, you'll want to get an AVR for the LR and use the Sonos Connect for that zone. Same thing as the amp except it doesn't power your speakers, it just sends the music to them through your amp.