Zone 2 setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 12-07-2012, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pwinters24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can somebody help me just confirm what I'm thinking of doing will work. Just want to make sure before I start something only to find out I'm on the wrong track. My end goal is to have 5.1 in the living room, powered zone 2 that runs to multiple speakers around the house and outside. Ability to watch a movie or gaming in the living room and stream from a PC or pandora to zone 2. I don't need separate sources to zone 2, whatever is going to zone 2 would play to all speakers in zone 2.

I'm thinking my setup would be as easy as a Denon 1913 with the powered zone 2 running to a Niles SSVC6 speaker selector which gives individual volume control, albeit I'd have to control each separate volume at a central location. I figure I'd have a standard volume for each location and just either have each location on or off.

Will this work like I think it will? Thanks!
pwinters24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 12-08-2012, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yes.

Down the road you may realize that having all the volume controls at (on) the speaker selectors is in fact simple but not at all convenient.
cshepard is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 12-09-2012, 05:56 AM
Member
 
Whip Rossovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a need for any amp in that setup?
Whip Rossovich is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 12-09-2012, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whip Rossovich View Post

Is there a need for any amp in that setup?

That receiver has a Zone2 amp built-in ("powered zone 2").

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 12-09-2012, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
pwinters24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshepard View Post

Yes.
Down the road you may realize that having all the volume controls at (on) the speaker selectors is in fact simple but not at all convenient.

Thanks for confirming! Agreed on the convenience but my wife probably thinks I'm overdoing it with this type of setup and cost.
pwinters24 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 12-11-2012, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Whip Rossovich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is the powered zone 2 enough for multiple pairs of speakerS? If so, how many?
aloxton likes this.
Whip Rossovich is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-13-2013, 11:16 AM
Newbie
 
aloxton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am planning a very similar setup to this, from what I have heard, as long as the speakers are 8ohms and to be used for background music it would work fine. I was told I may struggle a little if I tried to blast out music at a party! But I am most definitely a beginner at this.
aloxton is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off