Telephone Line connected to Electrical Outlet - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 12-09-2012, 12:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dlauney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm attempting to create another structured wiring termination upstairs basically to install a Ethernet switch. My plan is to repurpose a cat5 phone line to an upstairs bedroom that terminates at the structured wiring box downstairs. I currently have a switch in my box downstairs, so I'll use this phone line to connect the downstairs switch to the upstairs switch enabling me to add additional ethernet ports throughout the house accessible from upstairs attic.

However, when I located the cat5 wire to the phone in the bedroom, I noticed that it goes into an electrical box and then connects to another cat5 wire that seemingly goes to the structured wiring box downstairs. My question, what is this box that the cat5 is going into?

dlauney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-09-2012, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
A small DC transformer that provides lighted phone dials on old Trimline phones and others. It's hard wired to power, so be careful and turn off power if you want to remove it.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-10-2012, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
A small DC transformer

Sorry to nitpick, but transformers only operate on and output AC.
SAM64 is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-10-2012, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

Sorry to nitpick, but transformers only operate on and output AC.

rolleyes.gif

Sorry, I was being simple. A DC power supply. A hard-wired "wall wart" without the plastic case. biggrin.gif

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-10-2012, 07:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

rolleyes.gif
Sorry, I was being simple. A DC power supply. A hard-wired "wall wart" without the plastic case. biggrin.gif

That's just a transformer, the output is AC.
SAM64 is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-10-2012, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

That's just a transformer, the output is AC.

Thanks for the correction. I wondered about that - just always assumed it was ~24VDC (since we're talking about Bell stuff). But I guess since it was just a small lamp load, which would work fine with AC, there was no reason to add the rectifier cost, etc. And yes, those certainly look like transformers... I never measured one!

At least I got the intended purpose correct! biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

Ok, I learned something this week - and it's only Monday.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-10-2012, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
just always assumed it was ~24VDC (since we're talking about Bell stuff).

POTS equipment operates at -48VDC. Ring signal is ~90VAC.
SAM64 is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-10-2012, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

POTS equipment operates at -48VDC. Ring signal is ~90VAC.

(I meant DC vs. AC usage... cool.gif But yes, you're absolutely correct.)

I was also surprised, looking it up, how low the AC voltage output is on those (6-8V). It really is a small load, after all.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off