HDMI splitter 1 into 2 or 1 HDMI into 1 HDMI and 1 component - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-10-2012, 03:13 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cyclone82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am looking for a device that that can split 1 HDMI into either 2 HDMI or 1 HDMI and 1 component out

i am considering this upscaler

http://www.solarisjapan.com/products/XRGB%252dmini-Framemeister-Compact-Up-Scaler-Unit.html

but it only has 1 HDMI out frown.gif

I would like to feed one HDMI out direct to TV and then another one i want to downscale to component (probably with HDFury) so i can record from that to a hauppauge hd pvr or similar. I want both outputs to be on simultaneously but if i could turn either one off that could be useful.

As those are expensive good quality items i dont want to have a $10 splitter as the weak link in the chain and prefer something of equal quality to the other gear.

Do i need a powered splitter? can you get un-powered ones? If so is there a reduction in quality? Do i need amplification if i split 1 HDMI into 2

Are things like this good
http://www.ebay.com/itm/ViewHD-HDMI-Bi-direction-2x1-1x2-A-B-AB-A-B-Switch-Switcher-Support-3D-/280781012558?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item415fda3e4e

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ViewHD-1x2-HDMI-Splitter-v1-3b-One-Input-Two-Output-/270641169821?pt=US_Video_Cables_Adapters&hash=item3f0378859d

or would i want something better from a more known brand?

Thanks for your advice
Cyclone82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-10-2012, 04:22 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

i have used these (still do, ftm) without issue for splitting... personally, i have had far more luck with powered iver passive units...

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10113&cs_id=1011306&p_id=8204&seq=1&format=2

it's unlikely that you will find one that "splits" to hdmi and component... you would need to use a grey market device (such as the one you noted) on the other side of the splitter for that.

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

ccotenj is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-10-2012, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Cyclone82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was also considering something like this too.
http://www.kanexpro.com/item/?id=HD2PSPB

Anyone used that?

The Monoprice has good reviews it seems
Cyclone82 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-22-2012, 09:00 PM
Member
 
BB99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

^^^
i have used these (still do, ftm) without issue for splitting... personally, i have had far more luck with powered iver passive units...
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10113&cs_id=1011306&p_id=8204&seq=1&format=2

Are you using that monoprice unit with a 5V power supply (not included)?
This one: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10113&cs_id=1011306&p_id=8154&seq=1&format=2
slightly more expensive, includes the power 5V supply. I wonder if something like a Hum-X is needed if I'd be driving 2 TVs in 2 different rooms, which are powered by 2 different AC circuits?
BB99 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-23-2012, 05:58 AM
Member
 
BB99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cyclone82: if you don't have luck finding a single unit, you could first run to an HDMI 1:2 splitter then run one of those outputs to this HDMI to component converter:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011410&p_id=8125&seq=1&format=2

(I haven't used it so I'm just pointing it out, but it seems to get good reviews)
BB99 is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off