Looking for Single-Gang keypad to control Denon/Sony receiver. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 12-11-2012, 04:45 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking to replace B&K CK1.1 Keypad installed in my kitchen several years ago.

It was controlling Zone 2 on my Sony STR-DA3500ES receiver. I am switching receivers an am now unable to program this keypad.

Is anyone aware of single-gang installed keypads for controlling a Denon or Sony receiver.

I only need this keypad to control Zone 2 and turn up/down volume. My preference would be to mount this in the wall similar to where I had the previous keypad mounted. I don't want a universal remote or something portable.

I am having a tough time finding options.

Please let me know. Thanks.
atomarchio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-11-2012, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Do you need to select the zone 2 source with this KP, or just volume up/down? Unclear from your post.

If only volume control, you could use an in-wall VC.









If you want to select the source, from the keypad, it will involve a lot more effort to set up, with programming. I suggest hiring someone to do it, using Xantech, RTI, or URC - installer's choice.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-11-2012, 08:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,818
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomarchio View Post

I am looking to replace B&K CK1.1 Keypad installed in my kitchen several years ago.
It was controlling Zone 2 on my Sony STR-DA3500ES receiver. I am switching receivers an am now unable to program this keypad.

Why can't you program the keypad? Is it not functional, or do you not have the software?

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #4 of 14 Old 12-14-2012, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Why can't you program the keypad? Is it not functional, or do you not have the software?

I have the software and cable. However, the device needs an external power supply to be configured and the installer did not leave one.

How would I power up the keypad connected when connected to my computer? If I can figure out this part I can probably do it myself.
atomarchio is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 12-14-2012, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
How would I power up the keypad connected when connected to my computer? If I can figure out this part I can probably do it myself.

Use a 12VDC power supply, available almost everywhere.
SAM64 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 12-14-2012, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,818
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 353
+1. Or take your computer to the keypad, or connect the keypad to the amp with a temporary cat5 cable...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #7 of 14 Old 12-14-2012, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

+1. Or take your computer to the keypad, or connect the keypad to the amp with a temporary cat5 cable...

Would this actually work? This would be much easier than cutting wires.
atomarchio is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 12-14-2012, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,818
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomarchio View Post

Would this actually work? This would be much easier than cutting wires.

Why wouldn't it?

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #9 of 14 Old 12-16-2012, 05:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Why wouldn't it?

I just tried an Ethernet cable from keypad. Plugging in an Ethernet patch cable still does not power on the device. It's the same scenario as with the other cable I have.

I also noticed the software is looking for a connection the COM ports. I don't think it would find the device via Ethernet.

So how I do power on this keypad?
atomarchio is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 12-16-2012, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Have you googled B&K Programming Manual, and B&K Installation Manual?

I didn't read them, but the KP is most probably powered by the B&K controller.

If you don't have an RS232 port on a PC, you'll need a USB adapter, as mentioned in the Programming Manual. Pro can re-program, if you're not up to it. Hand him the manual, when he arrives, if he doesn't have B&K experience.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 12-16-2012, 07:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
I just tried an Ethernet cable from keypad. Plugging in an Ethernet patch cable still does not power on the device.

This device doesn't have any ethernet ports on it, so, don't do that.

If you google the part number, you'll get the operators manual, it shows the pinouts for the power supply, rs232 interface, etc.
SAM64 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 12-16-2012, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAM64 View Post

This device doesn't have any ethernet ports on it, so, don't do that.
If you google the part number, you'll get the operators manual, it shows the pinouts for the power supply, rs232 interface, etc.

It says I should purchase a 12V power supply but I don't which one to buy. I've never done this before so any help you can provide on how to connect the power supply to the interface of the keypad? What tools would I need to purchase?
atomarchio is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 12-16-2012, 07:24 PM
Member
 
sv650s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://*******/WhODjP
Page 3 of the manual shows the pin-out fir the connector. If you use a xantech 789-44 you can cut the cable and run the wires into the connecting block and have 4 ir outputs to control the receiver as well as other components. Use the 781-RG power supply and you will have no problems with powering the keypad.
http://www.xantech.com/files/manuals/96_78944.pdf
sv650s is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 12-17-2012, 04:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sv650s View Post

http://*******/WhODjP
Page 3 of the manual shows the pin-out fir the connector. If you use a xantech 789-44 you can cut the cable and run the wires into the connecting block and have 4 ir outputs to control the receiver as well as other components. Use the 781-RG power supply and you will have no problems with powering the keypad.
http://www.xantech.com/files/manuals/96_78944.pdf

I am currently using the 781-RG with the connecting block now. The wires on it are not cut so I can't cut them in order to use with powering the keypad for programming. How should I handle this?
atomarchio is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off