Advice for Subwoofer Balun at back of room? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
FuRoSh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I wanted to get some recommendations for doing the following:

Run my single-RCA (subwoofer) out of Denon Receiver --(to)--> L/R Audio klipsch Subwoofer.
I currently have a single subwoofer cable going to a Y-Adapter to my subwoofer.
I also have (2) Cat5E cable runs from plate near receiver to back of room.

Now I want to connect Sub to back of room, so I bought a pair of Niles C5-HDDA Baluns. The Niles C5-HDDA is a CAT-5 Component Video and Digital Audio Balun.
C5-HDDA image

I setup like this:
[Receiver] <-- (single Subwoofer Cable) --> [C5-HDDA Digital Audio connector] - [RJ45]<--(Cat5E)--> [RJ45] - [C5-HDDA Digital Audio connector] --(Single Subwoofer Cable)-->(Y-Adapter Cable)---> [L/R Audio Connector on Subwoofer]

I believe the Niles I bought on eBay did not work. Seller stated New, but one was scratched and I did multiple tests to rule out Niles Baluns but everything I tested pointed to them not working.
- I made sure cable wiring was using T568A standard as Niles manual states.
- I used a Cat5 ethernet cable tester and verified good cables.
- I ran brand new cable (tested) directly on floor to test again and still didn't work.
- I tested (store-bought) 6" patch-cable (cat5e) to eliminate distance and still didn't work.
- Then to verify my equipment was all working I bypassed the Niles Baluns and ran cables directly to subwoofer and subwoofer worked fine.

*I also have a networking (IT) background and have ran ethernet cable in past.

Questions:
[Receiver] - (sub cable) - [Audio Balun] - (cat5e) - [Audio Balun] - (sub cable) -- (Y-Adapter) - [Subwoofer]
This should work fine correct?

Is there a preferred Balun to use here?
A. Digital Audio Balun
B. Standard Audio (L/R) Balun with (2) Y-Adapters ?
or
C. Coax Balun
D. Component Balun and use any one of the single cables to pass audio through? (not to sure this would work but guessing in theory it sould)

*Also I really do not want to replace my 2 Cat5E in-wall jacks for a Wall Plate Balun so prefer to use a small balun at each end.
FuRoSh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 01:37 PM
 
SAM64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 74
You're trying to send a low bandwidth, low frequency analog signal through the port designated for SPDIF?
Chances are there's a high pass filter on this.
Try connecting everything directly, eliminating the BALUNS
SAM64 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
FuRoSh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First thanks for you response.
SPDIF port?
The receiver has SW out, Balun has Digital Audio IN/OUT, subwoofer has L/R IN. Sorry don't know which port exactly you're referring to. Is SPDIF same as any I just listed?

Denon AVR-3808CI A/V Receiver rear image:
http://www.audioenz.co.nz/2008/images/denon_3808-rear-l.jpg

> Connecting directly?
Are you suggesting connecting the Cat5 cable to sub using RCA connector?
I opted to go with Cat5E (multiple-purpose) cable w/ Baluns rather than running long Coax (single-purpose) cable to back of room or higher-end $costly$ Subwoofer cable that I needed about 150FT (Up wall, across ceiling, down wall) to back of room.
FuRoSh is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
FuRoSh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuRoSh View Post

- Then to verify my equipment was all working I bypassed the Niles Baluns and ran cables directly to subwoofer and subwoofer worked fine.
Sorry if this was misleading, I actually moved my subwoofer back by my receiver to verify all my equipment was still working to bypass baluns.
FuRoSh is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,028
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 364
You should use an analog audio cat5e balun pair instead. I use the MuxLab 500028 balun to connect a sub over cat5. Works fine.

http://www.muxlab.com/products/ve_avd_stereo_hifi_balun.html

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-16-2012, 10:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
As Jautor said, use a standard audio balun, not a video or digital balun. The nice thing about the straight audio baluns, is that they don't have a power adapter, actually, no power at all. Easy-peezy.

I use SnapAV units.
ifor is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-17-2012, 04:51 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
cshepard is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-17-2012, 09:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,028
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshepard View Post

This one's so much sleeker!
http://www.muxlab.com/products/ve_avd_stereo_audio_balun.html

Agreed that it's sleeker, but the specs aren't as good as the "HiFi" balun, and this one talks about "good midrange performance" which is why I spent the extra $20 for the other one...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-20-2012, 12:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
FuRoSh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys! I submitted my info to MuxLab to find reseller but can you recommend a good source to purchase from?
Google shopping shows several online stores like 123securityproducts.com
FuRoSh is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-21-2012, 02:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,391
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Got Amazon? http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=MuxLab+
olyteddy is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off