HDMI over Cat5 drops singal but switching HDMI input fixes, why? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-24-2012, 05:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am running an HDMI over Cat5 in my house approximately 40'. I am currently using a Tripp Lite P167-000 wall plate extender.

http://www.tripplite.com/en/products/model.cfm?txtModelID=3940

I have a brand new Denon AVR1913, brand new Sony EX645, and Tivo Premiere.

This usually works fine but I am noticing that the HDMI signal will drop out every few days. What solves the problem is switching from another HDMI input back to the input the TIVO is on. I have everything connected to a UPS also.


Does anyone understand why switching the HDMI inputs solves the problem? Should I replace the HDMI over Cat5 wall plates? Is the product going bad?

Please let me know. Thanks.
atomarchio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-24-2012, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,844
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 356
You're getting glitches in the signal, which confuses someone in the chain... Switching inputs re-initializes the link, which the device should have done, but got confused... These types of unpowered HDMI extenders (without an external power supply), are known to be somewhat flaky... Either live with it, or upgrade the extender to some model with its own power supply. At 40', any of those should be fine.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-25-2012, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
atomarchio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

You're getting glitches in the signal, which confuses someone in the chain... Switching inputs re-initializes the link, which the device should have done, but got confused... These types of unpowered HDMI extenders (without an external power supply), are known to be somewhat flaky... Either live with it, or upgrade the extender to some model with its own power supply. At 40', any of those should be fine.

I am fine with upgrading to a unit with an external power supply. Which side is the power supply on? The transmitter or receiver side?

Is there a particular brand/model you would suggest? Please let me know.

Thanks.
atomarchio is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Tags
Cat5 Rack 1u

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off