1080p sparklies with patch panel and wall plates, but not 1080i. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 12-28-2012, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've been working through my home AV wiring and setup for the past 18 months. Slowly and carefully. I don't have a massive budget like some members, but I'm doing what I can with the resources available.

I've got all of my equipment in a central location and wiring is done through the house (100% retrofit on 60 year old home). PS3, Wii-U, Apple TV, PVR... I'm using a monoprice 4X4 matrix and running through cat6 cables to the end devices. I'm pleased to say zero HDCP issues on any of the equipment, no black screens, nothing. It's been excellent.

So the setup basically goes like this. Let's take the wii-u for example.

Wii-U ---> Yamaha receiver (with HDMI switching and passthrough) --> 4X4 HDMI Matrix --> Cat 6 UTP --> Patch Panel -- > Cat6 UTP --> Wall Plate --> Cat6 to HDMI converter --> TV.

So far, I've been running everything at 1080i and everything has been perfect. I've had a Panasonic 900u (720p) so never really felt the need to push 1080p.

However, for Boxing day, I purchased an Epson 3020 1080p projector and am quite pleased with the picture overall. So trying out the 3D functionality, apparently my PS3 needs to be set up as 1080p (which introduces sparklies, some drop outs, etc).

So in an effort to obtain 1080p without the signal noise/loss I took out the patch Panel and the Wall Plate and voila! Perfect. Zero issues.

The challenge is that the patch panel and wall plates make the installation so much cleaner and versatile as you can all appreciate. The cables are cat6 UTP (I read that STP, while recommended, would not make any difference for shorter runs)

So please bear with me. I've been searching online and can't seem to find answers to my following questions: Hoping members here could help shed some light.