New home prewire - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-10-2013, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Decelerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to figure out how to prewire my home while keeping my options open for any control system.

The video distribution seems straightforward. Just 4 cat6 to each tv location.

The audio distribution is confusing me a bit due to the various interfaces for in wall control.
Standard 16/4 to each speaker location is simple enough.
But what do I do for the future keypad/touch screen locations?

I am thinking of doing a cat5e to each future touchscreen location.
I am also planning on putting in cresnet to each future keypad location.

But what cables would I need if I opt to do Rti or Nuvo or any other system for that matter? Some type of power seems reasonable, but I really don't know what else...

Any help is greatly appreciated.

EDIT: I am working with a local integrator, but wanted opinions from the forums.

Also, what would be a reasonable pre wiring budget for a 5k sqft home (10-12 zones audio, 4 video zones)?
Decelerate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-10-2013, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decelerate View Post

I am trying to figure out how to prewire my home while keeping my options open for any control system.

The video distribution seems straightforward. Just 4 cat6 to each tv location.

And at least one, preferably two RG6 runs.
Quote:
The audio distribution is confusing me a bit due to the various interfaces for in wall control.
Standard 16/4 to each speaker location is simple enough.
But what do I do for the future keypad/touch screen locations?

I am thinking of doing a cat5e to each future touchscreen location.
I am also planning on putting in cresnet to each future keypad location.

Cat5e to the keypad location is the standard. Loop the 16/4 through that location as well to keep all the future options open.
Quote:
But what cables would I need if I opt to do Rti or Nuvo or any other system for that matter? Some type of power seems reasonable, but I really don't know what else...

Cat5e. Decent assumption can be made that future controls / keypads / touchscreens will utilize cat5e, and very likely actual Ethernet and PoE.
Quote:
Also, what would be a reasonable pre wiring budget for a 5k sqft home (10-12 zones audio, 4 video zones)?

Will depend a lot on your location, what the builder already includes as their standard wiring, and how the work will be done. In my build for a similar scope, the builder included 32 wire drops (8 locations of 2xRG6+cat5e and 8 more cat5e) and six audio zones by default. I added 60 additional wire drops and 3 audio zones. I provided the extra wire (Monoprice - I probably spent $300) and would do the extra terminations. The subcontractor gave me a price of $700 for just the additional labor, I don't know what he charged the builder for the first 32 runs + audio zones.

Didn't seem like it that day, but after seeing how much work it would have been for me to really do it myself (I'm experienced, so it wasn't a total shock), I got off easy. I've seen pre-wire quotes in the $2000-2500 range when starting from scratch (materials+labor). That doesn't seem out of line at all.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-10-2013, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Decelerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks
I was under the impression that basic button keypads from Rti require DC power.
Decelerate is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-10-2013, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decelerate View Post

Thanks
I was under the impression that basic button keypads from Rti require DC power.

They do. And they connect to the control unit using an RJ45-terminated cat5e wire.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-11-2013, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Decelerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are you saying I can get away with just running one cat5e to power the keypad?
Or do I need some type of power cord.
Decelerate is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-11-2013, 12:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decelerate View Post

So are you saying I can get away with just running one cat5e to power the keypad?
Or do I need some type of power cord.

If you look at the RTI control unit which is what powers / controls the keypad, you'll see they use an RJ45 connector (and therefore cat5e) as the power and signal connection.

So no, no separate power cord, just a cat5e cable.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-11-2013, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Decelerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great that simplifies things a bit. Thanks.
So I think I will be covered for any future keypad or touchscreen by using a cat5e and cresnet.
Decelerate is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-11-2013, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Run this by the installer, or his designer. Crescat, I think, includes a pair of 18 awg conductors for power.

The Crestron designer should put his eyes on the final plans, before any cables are run, if Crestron is a consideration.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off