Help on multi room unit - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 02-09-2013, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone give me their experienced opinion of the Niles ZR-4 system? We bought a home with pre-existing wiring in about 8 zones. We don't really want that many, 4 would be fine. Is the ZR-6 system better than the 4? We would like to be able to have ipod, internet radio (pandora), and AM/FM radio. Can we upgrade the Keypads for the ZR-4 unit to the TS models or is that just worthless? Can we control source selection and scroll using the key pads, remote control with the ZR-4. I really appreciate any help. I'm a newbie with this stuff.

THanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 02-09-2013, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by maclean1 View Post

Can anyone give me their experienced opinion of the Niles ZR-4 system? We bought a home with pre-existing wiring in about 8 zones. We don't really want that many, 4 would be fine. Is the ZR-6 system better than the 4? We would like to be able to have ipod, internet radio (pandora), and AM/FM radio. Can we upgrade the Keypads for the ZR-4 unit to the TS models or is that just worthless? Can we control source selection and scroll using the key pads, remote control with the ZR-4. I really appreciate any help. I'm a newbie with this stuff.

Welcome to the forum!

The difference between the two systems is the support of "metadata on the keypads", so first, no, those keypads won't interchange between those systems.

The ZR6 will get you metadata (song name, artist/album, menus, etc.) from an attached iPod, but I believe that will only work for the music loaded on the iPod - not other services received from the Internet via apps on the iPod.