A/V setup help (TV, Roku, PS2, Stereo) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-23-2013, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
AMP8424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,
Sorry if this has been covered before i searched around for a bit but couldnt find a straight answer..
Im not a newb to A/V hookup but i've gotten to a point of surrender...

Basically i have my TV, stereo, PS2 and Roku player im trying to hookup all to my stereo so the audio will be nice and loud.

Currently my PS2 is the only thing connected to the stereo so the only time i can enjoy loud audio is when playing game/movie..
Basically i want to add my tv and Roku box to that so that the tv and roku can play through the stereo also..

Here is a diagram of my current situation.


Like i said, the only time i get to use the stereo is when my PS2 is on..i still have regular audio when watching regular tv and my Roku box has regular audio also (through the tv)

I recently bought a A/v adapter...just cant get it all hooked up right...


Im thinking i may need something like this? I would hook one end to back of stereo plug(video out) and then connect the Roku video to one end and the TV video to the other end? I dunno then would the audio still work?


Any help is greatly appreciated..
AMP8424 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-23-2013, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
K Shep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMP8424 View Post


Any help is greatly appreciated..


Are you using a receiver? Please share the mfg/model #.
K Shep is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-23-2013, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
AMP8424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, no amp or receiver...that may be my problem..i figured their might have been a easy way around it..

Cant splice A/V cables can you?
AMP8424 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-23-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,893
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMP8424 View Post

No, no amp or receiver...that may be my problem..i figured their might have been a easy way around it..

Then what is the "stereo"? An A/V Receiver (AVR) is what's commonly called a stereo these days...

You can split analog audio (RCA) with the Y-adapter you showed, connect one leg to the TV and the other to the AVR/stereo.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-23-2013, 04:19 PM
Senior Member
 
cshepard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
At least you're not a newb....
cshepard is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-24-2013, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
AMP8424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Then what is the "stereo"? An A/V Receiver (AVR) is what's commonly called a stereo these days...

You can split analog audio (RCA) with the Y-adapter you showed, connect one leg to the TV and the other to the AVR/stereo.
Its a Sony boombox stereo
Quote:
Originally Posted by cshepard View Post

At least you're not a newb....
Not completely
AMP8424 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-24-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,893
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMP8424 View Post

Its a Sony boombox stereo

I assume that boombox has only one set of RCA input jacks, then, correct? Hence the external switch?

Your Y-cable solution will work fine. Split the audio from the Roku, one going to the TV, the other to the switch. And your TV is already on the switch, so with all that connected then to the boombox, you should be set.
Quote:
Not completely

Mostly, but not completely. smile.gif You did figure out the Y-cable by yourself!

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-24-2013, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
K Shep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMP8424 View Post

Its a Sony boombox stereo
Not completely


The "stereo" drawing you provided is not to scale but it is representative of a boom box. wink.gif
K Shep is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-26-2013, 04:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
AMP8424's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

I assume that boombox has only one set of RCA input jacks, then, correct? Hence the external switch?

Your Y-cable solution will work fine. Split the audio from the Roku, one going to the TV, the other to the switch. And your TV is already on the switch, so with all that connected then to the boombox, you should be set.
Mostly, but not completely. smile.gif You did figure out the Y-cable by yourself!

Jeff
Yes it has the red/yellow/white plug in the front and then a yellow video out in the rear which connects to the tv

I'll try that and see what happens...
Quote:
Originally Posted by K Shep View Post

The "stereo" drawing you provided is not to scale but it is representative of a boom box. wink.gif
Hahahaha yea, the scale is a little off i'd say
AMP8424 is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off