Speaker wire/cat6 for remodel - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 23 Old 03-29-2013, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello, Im a newbie to the sight and have gained a wealth of knowledge as far as what to use, how and where to get it for my remodel however Im a little confused about some of the differences of speaker wire and cat 6. First of all im running everyting in the wall. Im using Klipsch in wall speakers for a 5.1 setup and Im also going to run cat 6 for all of my av/internet needs. My first question is does it really matter if my speaker wire is shielded for in wall use. My longest run will not be over 40 feet. I ordered a roll of 12 awg from monoprice and was going to use it and while talking to their tech support about the cat 6 and they said that i should have ordered the in wall sheilded instead of the regular speaker wire that I had already ordered. I was disconnected and when i talked to another person from monoprice they said that what I had was just fine however they would allow me to exchange it. As far as cat 6, all of my runs are going to be in the wall. I am going with the shielded as it just seems like a better option for only 40 bucks more, or am I just wasting the money? I realize i cant go over 300 feet but is there a special type of cat 6 that I need? I didnt realize their were so many different options. Thanks in advance for any light anybody can shed on this.

Eric
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old 03-29-2013, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member

Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by sierra tango ii View Post

...does it really matter if my speaker wire is shielded for in wall use.
No, you don't need shielded speaker cable. You do need in-wall cable with a CL2 or CL3 rating. AFAIK monoprice does not have shielded speaker wire. Could be the monoprice rep doesn't now the difference.
Quote: