New RG6 (Coaxail Cable) Run - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-08-2013, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mugenstylus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Due to flooding I need to re-run rb6 cable I need some help on this though. I have 7 splits total. I am concerned about signal loss, and distortion. The modem is in the same room as the cable in line.




Diagram
Key:

/ = Split

Room 1 (Bedroom)
Cable IN
/CATV/Modem Room 2 (Bedroom) Room 3(Bedroom) Room 4 (Living Room)
/_______________/CATV/__________________ /CATV/_________________CATV


So the splits are

Room 1 - 3 Splits: Cable modem, Cable tv, Split to Room 2
Room 2 - 2 Splits CATV, Line to Room 3
Room 3 - 2 Splits CATV, Line to Room 4
Room 4 - Living room HD Box. (Last room no more splits)


I was wondering if you guys had any tips and advice on this.

Thank you.
Mugenstylus1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-08-2013, 02:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,226
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 374
If you are re-running cable can you bring the lines from all the rooms to one location? Split after split after split is not the right way...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-08-2013, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mugenstylus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is what i would like to do. though my dad is helping me with the rewiring and this is the newest argument that came up.

But I am better off splitting at the source? and running individual lines to each room?
Mugenstylus1 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-08-2013, 03:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,226
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugenstylus1 View Post

But I am better off splitting at the source? and running individual lines to each room?

Yes, much better. Best practice is a two-way splitter, with one leg to the cable modem, the other leg to a distribution amp/splitter to feed all CATV outlets. So if you have 4 rooms, you use a 4-way splitter there. (and for less than 8 drops, an amp is probably not necessary)

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-08-2013, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mugenstylus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent, i'll see if i can convince him.
Mugenstylus1 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-08-2013, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Skytrooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Baden, Pa.
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 86
+1 for jautor.

(LCD - Sony KDL - XBR4) (Receiver - Sony STR-DA4ES)(Blu Ray - Oppo BDP-83) (PS3)( Dish Hopper DVR With Sling) Speakers (L & R - Paradigm Studio 20) (Center -Paradigm CC-470) (Surrounds & Back Surrounds - Paradigm SA-15R in walls) (Subwoofer 1 - Sunfire HRS-12) (Subwoofer 2 - Paradigm PW-2100)
Skytrooper is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-08-2013, 11:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,457
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mugenstylus1 View Post

But I am better off splitting at the source? and running individual lines to each room?

Yes, much better. Best practice is a two-way splitter, with one leg to the cable modem, the other leg to a distribution amp/splitter to feed all CATV outlets. So if you have 4 rooms, you use a 4-way splitter there. (and for less than 8 drops, an amp is probably not necessary)
That may be best if you're shooting in the dark and likely will work most of the time. But without actually measuring the signal levels you could be 'wasting' a lot of signal. My modem is connected to the down leg of a DC-9 and I've got -9dB in and 46dB out. The DC-9 gives me 2dB more to my TVs.

PS: I agree with the home running though.
olyteddy is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-09-2013, 09:08 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Amazing! The guy owns a DC-9! He has a ways to go to catch up with John Travolta (owns a 707).

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off