Structure Wiring - Homerun Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
jhermsmeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the builder install conduit from our attic down to the basement. I originally planned to run "trunks" (coax and cat6) from the basement structured wiring panel to another structured wiring panel on the 2nd floor (something like a star topology with 2 connected stars).

I planned to have a GigE switch at both panels, and feed these switches to the various rooms in the house. similar plan for phone lines.

I had decided to put a coax splitter in each panel and use a similar arrangement for video. I knew I might have signal strength issues, but figured I could buy an amp to help deal with that...

now I am second guessing myself... I am wondering if I should just bite the bullet and run homerun coax lines from the basement to all rooms of the house...

we have potential cable feeds from u-verse and xfinity directly into the basement and ota antenna and dish from the attic. over time, we may use all of these sources. with the center of the star in the basement, it sorta favors u-verse and xfinity (because of the long runs from the attic to the basement just for redistribution of ota or dish feeds). also, we only have 1.5" conduit. I am not sure how easy it will be to pull 11 coax/cat5 runs through that. throw in a slightly easier install (shorter runs with 2 star topology), and that is why I ended up with 2 structured wiring panels...

anyone have any experience or advice for such a situation?
jhermsmeyer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 07:15 PM
Member
 
acesat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I highly recommend having straight runs from one central location to every room.
-it's easier to service and manage
-less voltage drop and insertion loss
-fewer things to go wrong
acesat is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 07:32 PM
Member
 
acesat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
which is not to say that you couldn't use the conduit to the attic for additions to your network, or bring in lines from a satellite dish/OTA antenna. dish network may potentially need 3 coax feeds for a large hopper/joey setup, which can easily look pretty ugly on the outside of your house. directv swm systems "require" solid copper coax, and it's far more likely the contractor used copper clad steel as it's cheaper. basically the conduit is a very attractive feature for future proofing, so don't beat yourself up over it. but you might as well keep everything together
acesat is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 09:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 73
There is no real reason to run all tat Cat5 to the attic, a switch will work fine in that situation. Ideally homeruns are nice but reality often interferes...
Matt L is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
egnlsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylorsville, UT
Posts: 2,228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Bite the bullet and homerun everything. You may at some point decide to use a cable for something other than your network, such as HD distribution or IR control.

CIAO!

Ed N.
egnlsn is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 10:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 73
My switch comment relates to the number of wires that can fit in a 1 1/2" PVC pipe. If the OP is running lots of COAX running 1 CAT5 will allow more room and it will have no effect on the quality of the network -- adding splitters for COAX will.
Matt L is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 04-16-2013, 10:08 PM
Member
 
acesat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: midwest
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post

There is no real reason to run all tat Cat5 to the attic, a switch will work fine in that situation. Ideally homeruns are nice but reality often interferes...

I believe he was referring to the coax. It may seem good on paper to have 2 central locations, but as a satellite tech that would be nearly absolutely counterproductive. as far as category cable, go ahead and throw in a switch. it will be functional but not ideal since all the network activity between the switches will be piped through one line. Depending on the size of the house you might even price out both options and see that you don't really save that much. Especially take into consideration that you get the chance to do it right the first time


edit: just saw your last post and i agree
acesat is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 04-17-2013, 05:15 AM
Senior Member
 
M1chael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I agree with the others, just homerun everything to the basement. Also prewire now as much as possible and just use the conduit as "future" expansion.
M1chael is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 04-17-2013, 03:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post

My switch comment relates to the number of wires that can fit in a 1 1/2" PVC pipe. If the OP is running lots of COAX running 1 CAT5 will allow more room and it will have no effect on the quality of the network -- adding splitters for COAX will.

That doesn't help you for centralized HDMI distribution or the like. Homerun EVERYTHING.
BiggAW is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off