Video over HDMI, audio over RCA splitter when both the inputs are coming through one HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-27-2013, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HomeTheaterGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi I have a little problem that I need help with. I have this small karaoke device that outputs the background music, microphone, and the lyrics through HDMI. I have connected this to a HDMI in port on my Pioneer SC-1527K A/V reciever. I only want the audio signal to go through to my zone 2 connections on which I have connected my L/R Behringer B215D using a RCA to XLR cable and the video to my tv. However, when I select the zone 2 on the receiver, nothing happens. For some reason when I turn on the radio on the receiver and select zone 2, it works. I am really lost in this and any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!!

First Home Theater Setup.
HomeTheaterGuru is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 01:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Most multi-zone AVR’s only route signals being input on their 2RCA ‘Stereo’ Inputs to the Zone B speaker terminals.

Add in a stereo connection from the Karaoke device to the AVR and select that as the Zone B Source.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HomeTheaterGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post

Most multi-zone AVR’s only route signals being input on their 2RCA ‘Stereo’ Inputs to the Zone B speaker terminals.

Add in a stereo connection from the Karaoke device to the AVR and select that as the Zone B Source.

Joe

The only problem is that my karaoke only has an HDMI output so I have no idea on how to split the singnal.

First Home Theater Setup.
HomeTheaterGuru is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Use an "HDMI Audio extractor" to get the 2-channel audio out of it...

This looks like a decent, cheap one:

http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium-Audio-Extractor-Converter/dp/B00AHS8LD8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1367168115&sr=1-1&keywords=hdmi+audio+extractor

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 61
You will require an HDMI to 2RCA with HDMI passthru device - http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%201x1%20Audio%20Converter.html

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HomeTheaterGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Use an "HDMI Audio extractor" to get the 2-channel audio out of it...

This looks like a decent, cheap one:

http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium-Audio-Extractor-Converter/dp/B00AHS8LD8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1367168115&sr=1-1&keywords=hdmi+audio+extractor

Jeff

Thanks!! This is exactly what I needed! And at decent price!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Fernand View Post

You will require an HDMI to 2RCA with HDMI passthru device - http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%201x1%20Audio%20Converter.html

Joe
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Use an "HDMI Audio extractor" to get the 2-channel audio out of it...

This looks like a decent, cheap one:

http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Premium-Audio-Extractor-Converter/dp/B00AHS8LD8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1367168115&sr=1-1&keywords=hdmi+audio+extractor

Jeff
I think the $40 will do my job. But thanks!!

First Home Theater Setup.
HomeTheaterGuru is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 11:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 61
'I think the $40 will do my job. But thanks!!' - as with all things HDMI, EDID and HDCP – its al about interoperability/compatibility.

We sell a lot of units to folk who have tried lower cost solutions and found they won’t work in their particular setup!

You may get lucky wink.gif

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Does the manual say you can down convert HDMI and output it on Zone 2?
Colm is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-28-2013, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
HomeTheaterGuru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

Does the manual say you can down convert HDMI and output it on Zone 2?

I just checked and in tiny letters is says you cant... I wish they made it more obvious... I give that $40 one a shot I guess.

First Home Theater Setup.
HomeTheaterGuru is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-29-2013, 01:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 61
'I just checked and in tiny letters is says you cant...' - pretty much the norm with most (if not all) AVR's, as is the lack of highlighting that Zone2 only works with analogue audio Inputs on any marketing blurb.

We get a lot of calls from folk running into this problem.

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Joe Fernand is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off