Whole House Question: Left Spkr, Right Spkr, Mystery Cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-08-2013, 12:00 PM - Thread Starter
Kor
Member
 
Kor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone,

I'm new to whole house audio as I just bought a pre-wired home.

There are 2 speakers in each room, plus a volume dial on the wall.

At the hub, I am getting three cables. One is labeled Left and has both red/black wire wrapped in the sheath. One is labeled Right and has both a red/black wire in the sheath. There is a third wire from each room, cat5 cable from the looks of it but its cut not terminated with a plug.

What the heck is this cat 5 cable for? The home builder told me it's "for the volume control". ?

I am getting zero help from the builder and there are zero manuals.

Is this a common thing....?
Kor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-08-2013, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 258
Instead of using traditional volume controls it is for a smart keypad which gives you local room source select, volume control, and device control.

Read the 4th post in this thread as I just went over it with someone else...
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1471690/multi-room-audio-need-solution

It's pretty slick, but will cost more to setup than a traditional volume control system.

If your speaker wires are run through the single gang box near the door of each room, then you will find the cat-5 in there as well and you can choose to either use a traditional volume control or you can use a smart keypad.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-08-2013, 12:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Yes, it's for a keypad, which is generally part of a whole house audio (WHA) system. The fact that the cat5e cables are there mean your builder wired the house "correctly"!


Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-08-2013, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 76
The category cable could also be used for distributed IR, from the VC location; cheaper source control than a Smart KP.



If the speaker cables run to the VC location before running to the speakers, an ABus or Digi5 system could be used. Not a premium solution, but on the cheaper end of WHA systems.

The category cable could also be used to supply an iPod/dock as an audio input, or power an on-wall/in-wall tablet, iTouch, or conventional phone dock.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-09-2013, 07:35 AM - Thread Starter
Kor
Member
 
Kor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks you guys are awesome.

Any idea how I would 'test' the cat5 cables? Any way for me to test one room at a time before I invested in keypads or something?
Kor is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-09-2013, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kor View Post

Thanks you guys are awesome.

Any idea how I would 'test' the cat5 cables? Any way for me to test one room at a time before I invested in keypads or something?

Are you concerned about the cables being damaged? You can easily test them for continuity, but it will be time-consuming. I wouldn't worry about it - but if you intend to buy a keypad-based solution, you can terminate both ends with an RJ45 and use a network cable tester to make sure all 8 wires are good.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off