Some Cable/Wire running advice please. - Page 2 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > A/V Control & Automation > Home A/V Distribution > Some Cable/Wire running advice please.

Home A/V Distribution

ifor's Avatar ifor
11:51 PM Liked: 44
post #31 of 52
06-10-2013 | Posts: 2,421
Joined: Mar 2003
Get one of these and these.

And run 2 lines of each. You won't regret it.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
02:29 PM Liked: 58
post #32 of 52
06-11-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Well I'd rather not have a big outlet hole in my soundproof wall for a couple wires. I think if I could run them through the wall like a speaker wire then caulk and grommet that would be better. However, the 1" conduit. Was wondering if it would be a good idea to have it all ran and set up at each end, just not cut the hole in drywall for the boxes until I'm going to use it. Is this a good prudent idea or am I was out in left field here haha.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
08:33 AM Liked: 58
post #33 of 52
06-12-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Anyone? ^
ifor's Avatar ifor
10:47 AM Liked: 44
post #34 of 52
06-12-2013 | Posts: 2,421
Joined: Mar 2003
Do what you want, as it seems you are doing what you want anyway, despite excellent advice given to you here.
You can't really make a soundproof room when you are dealing with one layer. The way to properly soundproof a room is with at least 2 layers of wall with the first one being the sealed layer and the top layer has the wire run to all the various locations through the wall.

Use something like this for outlets if you are that paranoid.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
02:00 PM Liked: 58
post #35 of 52
06-12-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
huh? Who said i'm using 1 layer? Not sure where you got that from. And I don't appreciate your comment either. Keep that to yourself please and thank you.
ifor's Avatar ifor
11:56 PM Liked: 44
post #36 of 52
06-12-2013 | Posts: 2,421
Joined: Mar 2003
...
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
08:28 AM Liked: 58
post #37 of 52
06-13-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
found it a little offensive and unnecessary. I am taking everyone's advice to heart believe me. Just have to balance all of that with my specific setup is all.
AV_Integrated's Avatar AV_Integrated
04:54 PM Liked: 260
post #38 of 52
06-13-2013 | Posts: 2,834
Joined: Jun 2005
If you are running 1 HDMI, then run 2 and if you are running 1 cat-6, then run 2. This is ten times as important since you do intend to do some sound isolation work.

All cabling should be brought to a blue box which is depth adjustable and then sealed on all entry ports with firestopping to help prevent sound bleed. Just like an outlet plate requires the same, you can do this with HDMI and Cat-6 cabling just fine, and it should be approached with the same mentality.

Similarly, running conduit within a sound isolated space, should be brought into a blue-box, cut a hole in the box the proper size, then seal the edges so sound doesn't pass around the edges.

Depth adjustable electrical boxes:

Colm's Avatar Colm
07:15 PM Liked: 87
post #39 of 52
06-13-2013 | Posts: 4,652
Joined: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post


All cabling should be brought to a blue box...
What do you have against gray boxes, or orange boxes for that matter?

An alternative to an adjustable depth box is an extender like this.

Be careful running an HDMI cable into a box. The minimum bend radius for some HDMI cables is more than 4". That could require a box other than one of the common single gang boxes. A low voltage ring would be much better if you can fit it into your sound proofing plan. If you don't maintain at least the minimum bend radius for the cable you will damage it permanently. It won't stop working, but you will degrade its performance. If you are running well below its maximum bandwidth you may see no visual effect. If you are running close to the its maximum bandwidth the results may be noticeable. Same caution applies to runs outside the box. Observe the manufacturer's minimum bend radius, observe the manufacturer's maximum pull tension, don't kink the cable, etc. Same thing applies to Category 5e/6/6a cable, too.
AV_Integrated's Avatar AV_Integrated
07:58 AM Liked: 260
post #40 of 52
06-14-2013 | Posts: 2,834
Joined: Jun 2005
Open back boxes are not ideal for audio controlled situations. They provide a pathway for audio to bleed out of the room and into other spaces.

In non-audio controlled spaces, I strictly use low voltage rings for everything and they work very well and are designed that way for a reason. But, they are terrible in rooms where there is a serious goal of audio isolation from the rest of the home. Basically, they end up being a big hole in the wall to let sound out of and are not the 'right' solution.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
11:00 PM Liked: 58
post #41 of 52
06-15-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Electic hard wiring is all finished finally and I ran cat6 and HDMI from where the AVR and PJ will be. There is about 10 inches to a foot distance between the 2 cables, is this sufficient? Also, can 2 cat6 cables be run side by side for about 4 feet without interference?
jautor's Avatar jautor
09:06 AM Liked: 335
post #42 of 52
06-16-2013 | Posts: 7,626
Joined: Jun 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Electic hard wiring is all finished finally and I ran cat6 and HDMI from where the AVR and PJ will be. There is about 10 inches to a foot distance between the 2 cables, is this sufficient? Also, can 2 cat6 cables be run side by side for about 4 feet without interference?

All the low-voltage cables can be run together. The only recommended separation is between AC power and low voltage cables - keep them a foot apart if possible. But a lot of the interference we're concerned about won't affect digital signals anyway.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
12:54 PM Liked: 58
post #43 of 52
06-16-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Thanks again.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
06:20 PM Liked: 58
post #44 of 52
06-19-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Is it ok for HDMI and cat6 to be in close proximity to 12/2 electrical wiring for outlets and switches?
AV_Integrated's Avatar AV_Integrated
08:22 PM Liked: 260
post #45 of 52
06-19-2013 | Posts: 2,834
Joined: Jun 2005
Power wire and low voltage have to cross and come close from time to time. The idea is to try to minimize it when and where you can. Long runs across a ceiling should have them at least a foot apart if possible. I believe NEC calls for them to be 3 or 4" apart and then to cross at a right angle.

But, at projector locations and wall locations they tend to be near each other, it is typical, and it should not introduce any problems into the system whatsoever.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
01:09 AM Liked: 58
post #46 of 52
06-21-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
I'm guessing it is ok for Speaker Wire and low voltage(HDMI, cat6, etc) to run close to each other?
Neurorad's Avatar Neurorad
05:38 AM Liked: 76
post #47 of 52
06-21-2013 | Posts: 5,057
Joined: Sep 2007
Yes, it is OK, as jautor said.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
09:20 AM Liked: 58
post #48 of 52
06-21-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Ok just wasn't sure where speaker wire fell in that category, thank you.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
04:17 PM Liked: 58
post #49 of 52
06-23-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Are all these low voltage wires/cables ok to be in contact with batt insulation such as rock wool?
AV_Integrated's Avatar AV_Integrated
05:27 PM Liked: 260
post #50 of 52
06-23-2013 | Posts: 2,834
Joined: Jun 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Are all these low voltage wires/cables ok to be in contact with batt insulation such as rock wool?
Yes, they are fine to be in contact with insulation. Much the same as power cables may be. As long as they are in-wall rated cables, they are fine in your walls.
mijotter's Avatar mijotter
02:37 PM Liked: 58
post #51 of 52
07-10-2013 | Posts: 1,178
Joined: Nov 2012
Got all of my cables run finally and yay. Do I need a special HDMI cable to connect the BD player to the AVR such as with Redmere? The 2 units will be very close to each other. Thanks.
jautor's Avatar jautor
03:18 PM Liked: 335
post #52 of 52
07-10-2013 | Posts: 7,626
Joined: Jun 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Got all of my cables run finally and yay. Do I need a special HDMI cable to connect the BD player to the AVR such as with Redmere? The 2 units will be very close to each other. Thanks.

Any $3 cable will be fine for <10'...

Reply Home A/V Distribution

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3