Some Cable/Wire running advice please. - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 52 Old 06-11-2013, 12:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Get one of these and these.

And run 2 lines of each. You won't regret it.
ifor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 52 Old 06-11-2013, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Well I'd rather not have a big outlet hole in my soundproof wall for a couple wires. I think if I could run them through the wall like a speaker wire then caulk and grommet that would be better. However, the 1" conduit. Was wondering if it would be a good idea to have it all ran and set up at each end, just not cut the hole in drywall for the boxes until I'm going to use it. Is this a good prudent idea or am I was out in left field here haha.

mijotter is offline  
post #33 of 52 Old 06-12-2013, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Anyone? ^

mijotter is offline  
post #34 of 52 Old 06-12-2013, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Do what you want, as it seems you are doing what you want anyway, despite excellent advice given to you here.
You can't really make a soundproof room when you are dealing with one layer. The way to properly soundproof a room is with at least 2 layers of wall with the first one being the sealed layer and the top layer has the wire run to all the various locations through the wall.

Use something like this for outlets if you are that paranoid.
ifor is offline  
post #35 of 52 Old 06-12-2013, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
huh? Who said i'm using 1 layer? Not sure where you got that from. And I don't appreciate your comment either. Keep that to yourself please and thank you.

mijotter is offline  
post #36 of 52 Old 06-13-2013, 12:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 48
...
ifor is offline  
post #37 of 52 Old 06-13-2013, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
found it a little offensive and unnecessary. I am taking everyone's advice to heart believe me. Just have to balance all of that with my specific setup is all.

mijotter is offline  
post #38 of 52 Old 06-13-2013, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,496
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 376
If you are running 1 HDMI, then run 2 and if you are running 1 cat-6, then run 2. This is ten times as important since you do intend to do some sound isolation work.

All cabling should be brought to a blue box which is depth adjustable and then sealed on all entry ports with firestopping to help prevent sound bleed. Just like an outlet plate requires the same, you can do this with HDMI and Cat-6 cabling just fine, and it should be approached with the same mentality.

Similarly, running conduit within a sound isolated space, should be brought into a blue-box, cut a hole in the box the proper size, then seal the edges so sound doesn't pass around the edges.

Depth adjustable electrical boxes:

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
post #39 of 52 Old 06-13-2013, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by AV_Integrated View Post


All cabling should be brought to a blue box...
What do you have against gray boxes, or orange boxes for that matter?

An alternative to an adjustable depth box is an extender like this.

Be careful running an HDMI cable into a box. The minimum bend radius for some HDMI cables is more than 4". That could require a box other than one of the common single gang boxes. A low voltage ring would be much better if you can fit it into your sound proofing plan. If you don't maintain at least the minimum bend radius for the cable you will damage it permanently. It won't stop working, but you will degrade its performance. If you are running well below its maximum bandwidth you may see no visual effect. If you are running close to the its maximum bandwidth the results may be noticeable. Same caution applies to runs outside the box. Observe the manufacturer's minimum bend radius, observe the manufacturer's maximum pull tension, don't kink the cable, etc. Same thing applies to Category 5e/6/6a cable, too.
Colm is offline  
post #40 of 52 Old 06-14-2013, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,496
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Open back boxes are not ideal for audio controlled situations. They provide a pathway for audio to bleed out of the room and into other spaces.

In non-audio controlled spaces, I strictly use low voltage rings for everything and they work very well and are designed that way for a reason. But, they are terrible in rooms where there is a serious goal of audio isolation from the rest of the home. Basically, they end up being a big hole in the wall to let sound out of and are not the 'right' solution.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
post #41 of 52 Old 06-16-2013, 12:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Electic hard wiring is all finished finally and I ran cat6 and HDMI from where the AVR and PJ will be. There is about 10 inches to a foot distance between the 2 cables, is this sufficient? Also, can 2 cat6 cables be run side by side for about 4 feet without interference?

mijotter is offline  
post #42 of 52 Old 06-16-2013, 10:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,306
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Electic hard wiring is all finished finally and I ran cat6 and HDMI from where the AVR and PJ will be. There is about 10 inches to a foot distance between the 2 cables, is this sufficient? Also, can 2 cat6 cables be run side by side for about 4 feet without interference?

All the low-voltage cables can be run together. The only recommended separation is between AC power and low voltage cables - keep them a foot apart if possible. But a lot of the interference we're concerned about won't affect digital signals anyway.
mijotter likes this.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #43 of 52 Old 06-16-2013, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Thanks again.

mijotter is offline  
post #44 of 52 Old 06-19-2013, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Is it ok for HDMI and cat6 to be in close proximity to 12/2 electrical wiring for outlets and switches?

mijotter is offline  
post #45 of 52 Old 06-19-2013, 09:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,496
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Power wire and low voltage have to cross and come close from time to time. The idea is to try to minimize it when and where you can. Long runs across a ceiling should have them at least a foot apart if possible. I believe NEC calls for them to be 3 or 4" apart and then to cross at a right angle.

But, at projector locations and wall locations they tend to be near each other, it is typical, and it should not introduce any problems into the system whatsoever.
mijotter likes this.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
post #46 of 52 Old 06-21-2013, 02:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I'm guessing it is ok for Speaker Wire and low voltage(HDMI, cat6, etc) to run close to each other?

mijotter is offline  
post #47 of 52 Old 06-21-2013, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Yes, it is OK, as jautor said.
mijotter likes this.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #48 of 52 Old 06-21-2013, 10:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Ok just wasn't sure where speaker wire fell in that category, thank you.

mijotter is offline  
post #49 of 52 Old 06-23-2013, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Are all these low voltage wires/cables ok to be in contact with batt insulation such as rock wool?

mijotter is offline  
post #50 of 52 Old 06-23-2013, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 3,496
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Are all these low voltage wires/cables ok to be in contact with batt insulation such as rock wool?
Yes, they are fine to be in contact with insulation. Much the same as power cables may be. As long as they are in-wall rated cables, they are fine in your walls.
mijotter likes this.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
post #51 of 52 Old 07-10-2013, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Got all of my cables run finally and yay. Do I need a special HDMI cable to connect the BD player to the AVR such as with Redmere? The 2 units will be very close to each other. Thanks.

mijotter is offline  
post #52 of 52 Old 07-10-2013, 04:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,306
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Got all of my cables run finally and yay. Do I need a special HDMI cable to connect the BD player to the AVR such as with Redmere? The 2 units will be very close to each other. Thanks.

Any $3 cable will be fine for <10'...
mijotter likes this.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off